The Devil and Miss Prym – Book 6

“The Devil and Miss Prym” by Paulo Coelho one of the “1001 Books You Must Read Before You Die.”  Therefore, it was added to my own reading list.  I’ve read “The Alchemist” by Coelho, and while I enjoyed it, I thought it got repetitive and I wasn’t thrilled with the book.  I was, however, thrilled with “The Devil and Miss Prym.”

 

“The Devil and Miss Prym” is a book about a tormented man, being guided by the devil, who brings temptation in the form of wealth for murder in order to determine if people are inherently good or evil.  The man suffers from a horrific past and believes that if he completes his social experiment, he will be able to truly determine if humans are good or evil beings.  The man chooses the tiny city of Viscos, and opens up to Chantal, a barmaid with a promiscuous reputation and a dream about a more exciting future, about his plan to determine if people will murder for wealth and gold.

“The Devil and Miss Prym” is a great read that I highly recommend!  The book brings up some good moral questions and was a quick read.

Think about this: Would you commit murder in exchange for more money than you could ever spend?

Signature

4 thoughts on “The Devil and Miss Prym – Book 6

  1. No, I wouldn’t. If I ever killed another human being, even in self defense, I’m pretty sure I’d break down and have to spend the rest of my life in a padded cell. I don’t do violence well, and I can’t imagine killing someone.

    Like

Leave a comment

