For One More Day by Mitch Albom – Book 26

Mitch Albom is a short-book genius.  “Tuesdays With Morrie” and “The Five People You Meet in Heaven” were such amazing books (MUST READS if you haven’t done so already!).

So when I saw “For One More Day” at the library, I knew I had to pick it up immediately.

“For One More Day” is about a writer who interviews Charles “Chick” Benetto.  Chick tells the story of how he was an alcoholic who had basically run his life into the ground, and attempted to commit suicide.  On the day of his attempt, he nearly kills himself trying to make it back to his hometown.  When he shows up at his old, abandoned house, Chick sees his deceased mother, and proceeds to spend the day with her.

Chick is able to say all of the things he couldn’t say before, apologize to his mother, and through her love, he realizes that he might not be ready for death.

While I enjoyed “For One More Day,” I believe “Tuesdays with Morrie” and “The Five People You Meet in Heaven” were better reads, especially if you haven’t picked them up yet!  Honestly, just pick up a Mitch Albom book already!

Should you skip this book?  No, it’s a quick read (super quick, like a few hours of your time), and reminds you that life is precious and fleeting.

What would you do if you had a chance to spend one more day with a deceased loved one?

Signature

21 thoughts on “For One More Day by Mitch Albom – Book 26

    • Oh I’m so sorry!!!! It’s always sad to lose a loved one, whether it be puppy or human.

      I definitely say to start with reading “The Five People You Meet in Heaven” or “Tuesdays with Morrie.” Both fabulous, short, and inspiring.

      Like

    • Seriously. It’s almost depressing (and exciting) how many books are on my to be read list!! Sometimes I get anxious and nervous because I know I will never have time to finish all of them!

      Like

    • I stayed away from him for years, because for some reason I thought his books were boring (even though I hadn’t picked any up) but I do enjoy them!

      Although, disagreements are what makes book discussions fun! 🙂

      Like

  1. I wholeheartedly agree with this review. While he’s a “short story genius”, this might not be his best-of-the-best. I don’t think I was too excited about his “Have a Little Faith”, either. He just released another book – “The Time Keeper”…. In the same genre-ish, have you read “The Last Lecture” by Randy Pausch? It was fabulous!!!!!

    Like

  2. Pingback: The Time Keeper by Mitch Albom – Book 34 « Love at First Book

  3. Pingback: The Last Lecture by Randy Pausch – Book 37 « Love at First Book

  4. Pingback: The Time Keeper by Mitch Albom – Book 34 | Love At First Book

  5. Pingback: The First Phone Call From Heaven by Mitch Albom - Love At First BookLove At First Book

Leave a comment

