Book Thought – Immersed in Potter (Orlando Edition)

I’ve read all seven Harry Potter books twice.  I have seen all eight Harry Potter movies.  I also recently read and reviewed J. K. Rowling’s newest book, The Casual Vacancy, not that it’s Harry Potter related, but I guess in a tiny way. . .

Anyway, I’m a Harry Potter fan, but not a Harry Potter obsessor (although I think the books were genius and I did dress like Hermione for Halloween last year).

Me as a sort-of Hermione at a Halloween party last year with my golfer BFF. Like my “wand”??? (It’s a stick!)

When I lived in Florida, I was only a short distance from Orlando.  Therefore, I was able to check out the fabulous Wizarding World of Harry Potter at Universal Orlando Studios.  And it totally was fabulous!

My husband and I getting ready to board the Hogwarts Express! Okay, you can’t REALLY get on it, but it still looks cool!

The Hogwarts Express is at the entrance, once you pass through the gates that say “Please respect the spell limits.”  If you’re lucky, the conductor will be around to pose with you!

Shops at Hogsmeade were so cool! Some you can go inside (like the wand shop) while others are for window shopping!

Oh, you need to use the bathroom while at Hogsmeade?  Go ahead, and while you’re in there, you can listen to Moaning Myrtle whining away.

It’s like 80 degrees out, but there’s snow on the roof!

Make sure you try a butterbeer (it’s nonalcoholic, people!), frozen or not (although frozen is my favorite!) and check out the Dragon Challenge rollercoaster (formerly Dueling Dragons, so same concept just more castle-type decorations on your way in).

And of course, Hogwarts!

The castle is amazing, and worth going through for the ride (The Forbidden Journey) as well as going through it at least one more time to slow down and really take in all of the majesty of the castle itself.  Check out the link for the ride, if you’re interested, because there are pictures of some of the cool items in the castle.

Have you been to The Wizarding World of Harry Potter?  Is it a trip you plan to take?

Come back soon to check out my next post on the my experience with the Warner Brothers Harry Potter Studio Tour in London!  Yup, I’ve been there, too!

Thanks for reading,

Rebecca

18 thoughts on “Book Thought – Immersed in Potter (Orlando Edition)

  1. I loved the Wizarding World of Harry Potter! But I never knew to go in the bathroom!! Butterbeer = Best drink in the park hands down! I loved the wand shop and the candy shop. However, I went to the WWHP BEFORE I read any of the books – so I need to go again!! 🙂

    Like

    • Have you read all of them now? And yes, reading the books and THEN checking out the WWHP will help with your experience! There are just so many little thoughtful details they added that enhance the experience, and that you might miss if you’re not as big of a fan. But I guess if you’re not as big of a fan, you don’t really care if you miss the details! 🙂

      Which type of butterbeer is your favorite? Frozen or not frozen? I am frozen all the way!

      Like

  2. I want to go to there.

    I’ve actually never been to Universal (or even Disney World), and although I would love to explore Harry’s world, I don’t know if I could handle the crowds or the heat! I think, though, that it would be worth the sacrifice to get a taste of Butterbeer 😛

    Like

    • Being from Florida makes it a lot easier for me to get to Disney and Universal. If you go, do it up! Get a multipark pass for Disney and another one for Universal, and make it worthwhile. It’d be an expensive trip, but worth it!

      A good time to go is after Halloween but before Thanksgiving (less crowds and cooler weather) but if you can go after Thanksgiving-Christmas time, it’s beautifully decorated at all parks, but especially Disney!

      Like

  3. First of all, I’m so so so jealous! I want to go there! I have been to Orlando a bunch of times but it’s been years now…back before HPW was there. I want to drink some butterbeer darn it.

    You make an adorable Hermione by the way!

    Like

  4. Hmm those pics look familiar for some reason.. oh yeah I was there with u and it was amazing! Anyone who is any sort of HP fan needs to go! And the butterbeer was pretty delicious!

    Like

  5. Pingback: Book Thought – Immersed in Potter (London Edition) « Love at First Book

  6. Pingback: Book Bites: British Invasion « Love at First Book

Leave a comment

