The Snow Child by Eowyn Ivey – Book 27

Last week, I went on a trip and found it so much more difficult to find some quiet reading time!  Luckily, I managed to do a ton of reading on my 4 hour flight.

Anyway, I read “The Snow Child” by Eowyn Ivey, and while I enjoyed it, I found it lacking in some ways.  Basically the book follows a middle-aged to older couple (Jack and Mabel) who were unable to have their own child.  They moved to the wilderness of Alaska to try to farm the unforgiving land, in 1920.

On the day of the first snow, Mabel and Jack get a little frisky, and decide to play around in the snow, building a snowman, a little girl.  They carve her a face, give her clothing, etc.  The next day, the snowman is knocked over, and they spot a little girl hiding in the woods, looking very much like the snow child they built.

Mabel remembers an old tale about a snow child, and believes that this little girl might be a real-life version of that story.

As Jack and Mabel get to know the girl, a few major questions arise: Is she real or made from the snow? Is she going to suffer the same fate as the snow child from the tale?

I enjoyed reading this book and was enthralled with the questions about the girl, and what the ending would be like, but I was not impressed with the ending.  It was a little anti-climactic for me.  This book is definitely more for the female readers, a little sappy, but not too sappy where it’s wimpy.  I was actually disappointed that the end did NOT make me cry, as I was expecting the entire book.  Maybe that’s why I wasn’t as thrilled with the ending.

All in all, it was an enjoyable read, and apparently a lot of people disagree with me about the ending because on Amazon it is ranked 4 and a half stars and Goodreads people said it was almost a 4.  So, check it out for yourself!

Signature

12 thoughts on “The Snow Child by Eowyn Ivey – Book 27

  1. I’ve been wondering about this book, I love the premise. I’ll read it one of these days 😉

    Maybe it’s just me but I just can’t seem to trust reviews on GR or Amazon. I’ve read some awful books and see them marked with LOTS of stars on those sites. I just don’t get it, lol. I get that we all have our own tastes but wowza.

    Thank goodness for trusted book bloggers!

    Like

    • Seriously! I mean, it’s a good book, but come on, for me to be EXPECTING to cry and then not (and I cry at EVERYTHING, happy, sad, you name it) was a little lackluster. However, I enjoyed the book. I think another thing that makes it tougher is the book I read right after (which will hopefully be reviewed soon) was just so amazing to me, that it could have made The Snow Child pale a little in comparison.

      Like

  2. I’ve been meaning to read this! I love the magical realism-esque concept, and it seems like such a lovely, quiet read. I don’t cry from books (The Age of Miracles being a startling exception), so not crying at the ending shouldn’t be much of a problem for me 😛

    What was the next book that was so fantastic? I’m dying to know!

    Like

    • Loved Loved Loved Loved “The Song of Achilles.” I am dreading writing the review (even though I know I will in the next day or two) because I know that I cannot do the book justice! All I was to say it READ THIS! 🙂

      Like

  3. I loved this book, and liked the ending too, but I have to say I did wonder about it. There’s still a mystery looming and even if the answer is basically apparent it’s not completely.

    Like

  4. Pingback: The snow child, by Eowyn Ivey | From Isi

  5. Pingback: The Snow Child by Eowyn Ivey - Book 27 #books - Urban Angels

Leave a comment

