Book Thought – Books in Boulder

Trident Booksellers & Cafe, Boulder, CO

While visiting Boulder for the day, and wandering down Pearl Street, we found this quaint used book store, Trident Booksellers & Cafe. Cute store, great selection of books, and great prices!  Also attached to a cafe in case you need a pastry and a coffee!

Trident Booksellers & Cafe in Boulder, CO

My Trident purchase!

Even though I am past the Grapes read-a-long that others bloggers were hosting, I figured I can reread the book anytime I want, now that I own my own copy!  Anyone want to reread it with me?

Then we wandered into the enormous Boulder Bookstore, located also on Pearl Street (which has amazing shopping, btw!).  Seriously, the Boulder Bookstore was HUGE (20,000 square feet of BOOKS)!  Multiple floors, multiple rooms, very comprehensive!

Boulder Bookstore

Ballroom at Boulder Bookstore, one of the many rooms the bookstore had

How many bookstores do you know of with a BALLROOM????  Seriously, those books are in a ballroom!

I loved having the opportunity to wander around Boulder and happen to find two bookstores, both different, but both independent!

Bought anything good recently from a bookstore?

Thanks for reading,

Rebecca

19 thoughts on “Book Thought – Books in Boulder

  1. It feels like forever since I’ve been to a bookstore! In truth, it hasn’t been that long, since my book club meets at my very favorite indie. The two you posted about here are BEAUTIFUL, and I cannot think of anything better than a ballroom full of books. 😀

    Thanks for sharing your explorations!

    Like

    • Thanks for checking it out! Normally the bookstores I wander into are huge chains or tiny used bookstores. I just looooove the used bookstore deals where you can walk out with a bag of books for a great price!

      Like

  2. Both of those bookstores look amazing! I finally bought a membership to my local indie bookstore a few months ago, as if I need an excuse to buy more books 😛

    Like

  3. Thanks for 2 more good reasons to come back to the Denver area. There is nothing like a good book store to lose yourself in for a little while.

    Like

    • And honestly, the Trident Booksellers & Cafe was small but since it’s all used, it would be sooooo easy to get lost in (especially with a coffee from their connecting cafe).

      Then the Boulder Bookstore was multiple floors and many rooms, kind of like a huge house. You could get lost in there for hours, especially if you’re willing to explore some of the more eclectic sections of the store!

      Like

    • I actually read something recently about how most big time bookstores are lessening the amount of chairs since too many people were loitering to read and not purchasing!

      Most bloggers don’t seem to admit to it, but I like my large bookstore chains just like I like the tiny shops. I think we need a little of everything!

      Like

  4. I love the feeling I get when I walk into a bookstore. I love the feeling of being surrounded by words yet unread by me. I love the potential of what I will learn. I love the smell of brand new books and the smell of much loved books. I love that books are waiting patiently for me to grab hold and love them. I love the feel of hard covers, dust jackets, and paperbacks. I love the bookshelves crammed tight. I love the treasures I might find hidden. I love that, when I walk into a bookstore, I am greeted by an old friend who does not judge me, but accepts me as I am and welcomes me back every time with open arms, I mean pages.

    Like

  5. I just met your site and see this bookshop… It looks wonderful!!
    I’m Spanish and I can assure you that these kind of places don’t exist here.
    By the way, I’ve read the Steinbeck’s novel and I loved it. It makes you feel contrite, but it’s a really great book.

    PD: sorry for my English, but I’m trying to learn and improve.

    Like

    • Isi,

      I appreciate your kind words! My newest cousin-in-law is from Peru, so I practice my Spanish by trying to translate all of her Facebook posts! 🙂

      I’m glad that you found my blog! And hopefully you continue to check it out, and comment. I’m happy to be a place where you can practice English!

      Are you from Spain? Do you like to read in English or do you usually read in Spanish?

      I have read Grapes of Wrath, but in high school, so I am excited to read the book again!

      Like

      • Oh yes, I’m Spanish.

        And yes: your blog has been chosen for me in order to learn more English 😀 I also have created a book blog in English because I also want to practise my writing.

        I see you can speak Spanish thanks to your relative. If you need something about Spanish, you can ask me too, if you want.

        Until this moment I’ve been reading only books by levels in English but last month I began to read “real” books. The first one was awful: The vampire diaries. I chose it because I though I would be easy, because it’s for young people, but the plot was boring and predictible. And this week I finished one by George Orwell (Homage to Catalonia), and I liked much more, as you can imagine 😉
        Step by step…

        I’ve downloaded some books that are still don’t available here and I’m looking forward to reading: from Kate Morton and other authors that I like.

        Like

        • I think it’s all about finding what you like! I have read some great young adult books (NOT vampire ones, though!). The Giver is one that I’m pretty sure is also available in Spanish (as my Peruvian cousin recommended that I read it). That’s a young adult book that should be easier to read, but on a much more interesting topic!

          Like

  6. Pingback: Boulder Public Library « Love at First Book

  7. Pingback: Driving from Denver and Reminiscing – Boulder Public Library « Love at First Book

Leave a comment

