The End of Your Life Book Club by Will Schwalbe – Book 35

I’m participating in The End of Your Life Book Club discussion hosted by Jen at Devourer of Books, who was also giving the book away for this discussion!  Also participating are a few of my favs, Between the Covers, Books Speak Volumes, and The Relentless Reader.

Anyway, since I’m going to be talking about the book in length on Devourer of Books, I’ll keep my thoughts here short.

The End of Your Life Book Club by Will Schwalbe is a memoir of the time that the author, Will, spent with his mother after she was diagnosed with pancreatic cancer.  Knowing she only had a few months to a few years to live, Will was determined to make the most of his time with his mom.

They spent the doctor’s appointments, chemotherapy treatments, etc., discussing books in their own tiny book club of two people.  Through the book club and following discussions, Will was able to find out more about his mom, things he never knew previously.

Short notes on The End of Your Life Book Club:

  • The appendix has a full list of the many, many books talked about in this memoir, thus adding to my already-long to-read list.
  • The book started out a little slow for me, but picked up.  Definitely is a slower read, not one I rushed through, but worth it.
  • Should you read it?  Yes, there are great lessons in the book, including just taking the time to help those in need, and taking the time to appreciate what you’re lucky enough to have.

What book have you read that makes you appreciate you life?

Signature

8 thoughts on “The End of Your Life Book Club by Will Schwalbe – Book 35

  1. This sounds really interesting. I’ve been working through “aging parent issues” for the past six months, so the general theme is pretty relevant to my life right now. And you can’t go wrong with a “book about books”!

    Like

  2. Pingback: The Last Lecture by Randy Pausch – Book 37 « Love at First Book

  3. Pingback: My Mother, My Son by Dwayne J. Clark – Book 54 « Love at First Book

    • Haha, my list changes in the same way! I’m kind of struggling through Pride and Prejudice at the moment, but it is getting better. A lot of gossip that I don’t care about it being talked about so those parts are slow. . .

      Like

  4. Pingback: 'End of Your Life' Celebrates Reading

  5. Pingback: The Last Lecture by Randy Pausch – Book 37 | Love At First Book

Leave a comment

