30 Day Book Challenge – Days 15-21

Continuing with the challenge. . .

Day 15: Favorite book dealing with foreign culture – The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini!  This book really humanized the Afghani people and made me realize that many of them were under siege from the Taliban, too.

Day 16: Favorite book turned movie – I have to say Matilda by Roald Dahl.  I think it was one of the first movies I saw that really did the book justice!  One of my favorite books as well.

Day 17: Book turned movie and completely desecrated – This is easy!!!!  My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult.  But. . . I used it already as an answer last week . . . So I’ll have to go with I Am Legend by Richard Matheson.  The movie ending was very Hollywood, which kind of ruined it for me.  The book had a much better, darker ending!

Day 18: A book you can’t find on shelves anymore that you love – Another easy one!  Bread Givers by Anzia Yezierska was a book that reminds me of the Jewish version of The Poisonwood Bible by Barbara Kingsolver!  Such a good book but really hard to find! 

Day 19: A book that changed your mind about a particular subject (non-fiction) – The Year of Living Biblically by A.J. Jacobs didn’t change my mind about religion, but it did remind me of the things I could be doing to be a better person.

Day 20: A book you would recommend to an ignorant/racist/closed minded person – I have to copy my good friend at The Relentless Reader, when she said Black Like Me by John Howard Griffin for one of her answers, and I cannot get the book out of my head.  A white journalist poses as a black man (skin tinting, black makeup) in order to find out what it truly is like to be black in 1960.


Day 21: A guilty pleasure book – What does this mean? To me, a guilty pleasure book would be something that people are surprised that I enjoy.  I can’t think of a book itself, but I like certain authors that write quick reads, like John Grisham!

Missed the other days?

Thanks for reading,

Rebecca

10 thoughts on “30 Day Book Challenge – Days 15-21

  1. Ooh ooh! Love this post..so much bookish goodness!

    The Kite Runner! What a majestic book, I completely loved it 🙂 Matilda!? That movie was pure gold..so sweet and funny and thought provoking too. My oldest daughter used to watch it over and over. I haven’t read that recent Jacobs but I adore his stuff. Did you happen to read the one about reading through the entire encyclopedia? I can’t think of the name right now and I’m too lazy to look it up, lol. The Know it All? Something like that. Anyway, it was hilarious 😉

    Like

    • Yeah, something like The Know It All. I didn’t read it, nor did I read his newest one about Health since like everyone has been blogging about it I thought I’d wait a while. But I do really want to read the encyclopedia one, especially since we’re saying goodbye to them!

      Like

  2. I have to say I liked “I am legend”, the movie. OK, the end is soooo American, but I liked the environment; the atmosphere. And Smith’s play.
    Months later after watching the movie I read the book and I also liked it very much. I remember Neville neighbour calling him “go out, Neville” 😦

    Like

    • Will Smith was a good main character, but I thought the books and movie were just too different. The book main character was moody and distant, but I think the ending fit better, being dark and sad. The movie ending was so Hollywood, too happy-go-lucky compared to the book. But I did like that Will Smith’s character was more likable in the movie.

      Like

    • Exactly! Plus, maybe you enjoyed the movie ending more because you like happier endings, more than I do. 🙂 Not that I prefer sad ones, but I appreciate the risk of a not happy ending.

      And you know, the movie did very well, so you’re not alone in your thoughts!

      Like

  3. Pingback: 30 Day Book Challenge – Days 22-30 « Love at First Book

Leave a comment

