You like me, you really like me! – Part 1

Floating around the internet are a bunch of different blogging awards, and I think I can say I’ve made it when I was nominated for two different blogging awards (my first time ever!!!) within a few days of each other!  So here’s my first of two award posts.

Thanks to Jhobell Kristyl at Book Maven’s Picks, another great bookish blog, for nominating me for the Liebster Award (to which the origin is explained here since I was curious and did some googling).

The blog awards always have special rules to follow, so here are the rules for the Liebster Award:

1.  Post 11 random facts about yourself
2.  Answer 11 questions given by the blogger who nominated you
3.  Nominate other bloggers for the award and make sure to notify them
4.  Write 11 new questions for the bloggers you are nominating (you can’t nominate the blogger who nominated you)
5.  Claim the “Liebster Award” photo for your blog

Here are 11 random facts about myself:

  1. I love love love to watch jail and drug shows.  My favorites? Nat Geo’s Locked up Abroad and MSNBC’s Lockup.
  2. I’m terrified of frogs.  Like I’ll wait until they move away from my front door before I can possibly enter.  I even nominated myself for the show that probably doesn’t exist anymore, Animal Phobias.
  3. I have a secret place in my heart for some hardcore rap music.  Yeah, I know most of the words to DMX’s music and all of the words to the St. Lunatics cd.
  4. I hate to cook.  Totally not my thing.
  5. I enjoyed the Twilight novels!  But I hated the 50 Shades, so don’t think my taste is bad overall!
  6. I love awful reality tv.  Some of my favorites are the Real Housewives, Teen Mom, and Shark Tank (which probably doesn’t classify as the same kind of bad).
  7. I think Sheldon Cooper is one of the funniest people ever.  Bazinga!
  8. I taught myself how to knit through YouTube videos.  Joke away, but now I can make an awesome scarf and you can’t!
  9. I have a wall of books at my house made of IKEA bookshelves.
  10. I love to try different, crazy things on my nails, like making Up (the movie) themed nails with clouds and a house with lots of balloons on them.
  11. I enjoy white wine, even though sometimes I feel guilty about it since it doesn’t have the antioxidants that red does!

Jhobell Kristyl’s questions for me are. . .

  1. Favorite color? Blue (the same shade as my eyes)
  2. Love or money? Love
  3. Favorite book genre? Popular, modern fiction
  4. Sunny day or rainy day? I’m a Florida girl, sunny!!!!!
  5. Hot or cold? Hot day, cold ice cream!
  6. Favorite food? Mint chocolate chip ice cream
  7. Your biggest fear? Frogs!
  8. Your greatest dream? To figure out what I want to do with my life as a career
  9. If you’re a Hollywood star, who would you be? Hmmm . . . I have no idea. . .
  10. Harry Potter or The Lord of the Rings? HP, but to be fair, I haven’t read the LOTR or seen the movies yet (but it’s high on my list)
  11. If you have a superpower, what is it? Flying!!!

Time to nominate other bloggers. . . (If I think they are great, you will too!)

  1. Heather @ Between the Covers
  2. Jennifer @ The Relentless Reader
  3. Leah @ Books Speak Volumes
  4. Stephanie @ Steph’s Blog (also a fab event planner if needed)
  5. Matt @ A Guy’s Moleskine Notebook
  6. Geoff @ The Oddness of Moving Things
  7. Melinda @ My Life in Rouge (perfume, nail polish bloggy blog!)
  8. Jen @ Devourer of Books 
  9. Isi @ From Isi (She’s learning English one blog post at a time! Just kidding, her English is awesome!)
  10. The Matilda Project (Always has amazing new bookstores to show off!)
  11. Andi @ Estella’s Revenge

And now, the questions they need to answer (although I didn’t write them in question format). . .

  1. Favorite book
  2. Least favorite book
  3. Biggest vice
  4. Biggest virtue
  5. Favorite food
  6. Grossest food
  7. Best place to shop
  8. Favorite vacation spot
  9. Favorite website (doesn’t have to be a blog)
  10. Your go-to when you’re sad
  11. The exotic pet you’d love to be

Thanks again to my Book Maven!!!

Feel free to answer the questions in the comments section, even if you weren’t nominated!  I still love you! 🙂

Thanks for reading,

Rebecca

25 thoughts on “You like me, you really like me! – Part 1

  1. Congratulations and thank you! You’re wonderful. I’m going to answer your questions right here because I would have a really hard time picking only eleven blogs if I wrote a whole post about it. So…

    1. Favorite book (one of them): The Handmaid’s Tale

    2. Least favorite books: In Cold Blood, Wolf Hall

    3. Biggest vice: Pepsi

    4. Biggest virtue: Empathy

    5. Favorite food: Most anything Italian

    6. Grossest food: I’m kind of picky, so I could put a lot of food in this category…but I’ll go with sauerkraut.

    7. Best place to shop: Bookstores!

    8. Vacation spot: I don’t get to take a lot of vacations, but Olympia, WA was a pretty cool place when I visited my uncle there.

    9. Favorite website: Oh, geez, this is tough. How about Twitter!

    10. Go-to when sad: Music, specifically 90s hip hop or Janet Jackson

    11. Exotic pet I’d love to be: You know, I’m not sure I’d want to be someone’s pet. Hmmm… I’ll have to think on that one.

    Like

  2. Thank you, Rebecca, for the nomination, and for your lovely words 😀

    And congratulations!!

    “I love to watch jail and drug shows”: I knew it, and google-people know it too 😉

    Well, this award is so interesting and I have a lot of work to do!
    And I’ll take a look at the other nomitated blogs; there are a few ones I haven’t visited before.

    Like

    • You totally just made me laugh out loud for real at your “I knew it, and google-people know it too”! Very true!!!

      Definitely check out the other blogs! There are some great ones! All in English, though 🙂

      Rebecca

      Like

  3. OMGosh! We have so much in common. I love those Nat. Geo. shows too. Especially prison/jail ones. I’m also not a fan of frogs, though not quite as creeped as you are by them. I’m a huge Sheldon fan. *Rock, paper, scissors, lizard, Spock!*

    And so much more. I’ll hope on these later this weekend or early next week!

    Like

    • Ok, no rush!

      And I’d glad to see all our commonalities! Most people think I’m crazy when I talk about the prison/jail shows that I love!

      And one of my best presents ever from my husband was a shirt that says Bazinga on it! 🙂

      Like

  4. Thanks Rebecca! I’m going to follow Heather’s example and answer the questions here:

    1. East of Eden by John Steinbeck
    2. I’m not sure I have a least favorite, the ones that don’t work for me I usually abandon. There was a really terrible Civil War book that I got from LibraryThing Early Reviewers when it pretended it wasn’t self-published, but I seem to have blocked the title from my memory.
    3. Chocolate and books!
    4. Um… whole grains?
    5. Thai
    6. Fish
    7. Bookstore!
    8. Somewhere by a pool with a book
    9. Twitter!
    10. Cuddling one of my babies
    11. Cheeta

    Like

  5. Hey Rebecca, Thanks! I’m just going to answer here as well!

    1. The Only Alien on the Planet
    2. Pretty much anything by Steinbeck – just can’t get into him.
    3. Buying too many books
    4. Honesty – some time too honest.
    5. Cheese – Hands down.
    6. Lettuce
    7. A used bookstore? 😀
    8. Anywhere that’s not where I am.
    9. Towleroad or Goodreads
    10. Dancing around and singing ridiculously while cooking or cleaning to make it seem less of a chore!
    11. A dragon of course!

    Like

  6. Thanks for the nomination Rebecca! I will do a blog post to answer your questions, so stay tuned, and congrats on your award!! 🙂


    Steph

    Like

  7. Thanks Rebecca, and congratulations on your own nomination! I’m also going to answer the questions here.

    Favorite book: The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath
    Least favorite book: The Devil Wears Prada. The movie was so fun that I thought the book might also be fun. I was very wrong; I was SO irritated with this entire book.
    Biggest vice: Chocolate
    Biggest virtue: Listening
    Favorite food: Anything from Dinosaur BBQ!
    Grossest food: Mushrooms
    Best place to shop: I’m going to be bold and break the “bookstores” pattern — Trader Joe’s
    Favorite vacation spot: Yosemite National Park, if you avoid the crowds on the shorter trails in the valley.
    Favorite website (doesn’t have to be a blog): Etsy. I can get lost for hours browsing people’s stores.
    Your go-to when you’re sad: Bon Iver and a quiet book, like Norwegian Wood. Just reading a few pages of it helps me calm down. (I suppose this is more for upset than sad, but they’re tied together)
    The exotic pet you’d love to be: A hummingbird?

    Like

  8. No problem, I’ve understood 😉
    The question is if you have understood me, because I think it should be “I’ve done”…
    First think, then write (what my teacher says)

    Like

  9. Pingback: Liebster Blog Award | My Life in Rouge

Leave a comment

