Driving from Denver and Reminiscing – Denver Public Library

Today, my husband, dog, and I are still driving from our temporary Denver home to a new temporary location: Boston!

Since I’ll be missing Denver, I thought I’d reminisce a little bit about one of my favorite places, the Denver Public Library, so you can reminisce with me, with this post from September 21, 2012:

 

My library card is pink.

And I even got a choice as to what color card I wanted: pink, green, or blue.  Blue and green looked too plain, so I went library-card-wild and chose the pink.

My fabulous library card! Notice it says “geek” on it. Love it!

I’ve been living in Denver for a little over two weeks, well overdue to pick up my library card.  The main branch is within walking distance from my apartment, which is even better.  And the library is huge!  Seven whole floors!

Huge plaque outside the library

This is just a small section of the entire area devoted to new books!

This library was overwhelming in a good way!  I especially was excited about the entire section of the library devoted to NEW BOOKS!  I got a little anxious (sweaty palms, shortness of breath) because there were so many to choose from!

I had to be REALLY good because I forgot a cloth bag and had no way of getting the books back to my place except for walking them back in my arms.  So I settled on five (which was super hard!):

Lord of the Flies by William Golding – introduction by Stephen King which is cool since today is King’s b-day and I JUST reviewed one of his books!

A Child Out of Alcatraz by Tara Ison – literally just saw this on the shelf and if you know me personally, you know I’m obsessed with jail shows (MSNBC’s Lockup marathon is something I look forward to on weekend nights and when we passed by Limon Correctional Facility on our drive to Denver I took a picture!) so this book just spoke to me!

This is How: Help for the Self by Augusten Burroughs – I’ve read “Running With Scissors” and loved it so I thought I should try out his new book.

Dare Me by Megan Abbott – every book blogger is reviewing it positively so I feel out of the loop unless I do the same – here’s one of my favorites: Between the Covers Review

NW by Zadie Smith – I have another Zadie Smith book on my list (White Teeth, thanks to 1001 Books You Must Read Before You Die)  but I couldn’t find that, and this one is new, so I thought, why not?

Do you have a library story you want to share?

No?

Because you’re not as much of a nerd as I am?

Ok, then, what are you reading this weekend?

Thanks for reading,

Rebecca

23 thoughts on “Driving from Denver and Reminiscing – Denver Public Library

  1. How was This is How? I love Augusten Burroughs! That library is insane, I would’ve been right there having a panic attack with you at the mere thought that I couldn’t ever look at every book there! Have a safe trip, I can’t wait to see
    pictures!

    Like

    • I actually didn’t end up reading it! I started, and it was more of a self-help than I expected. I know the title sounds like a self-help but I assumed it was more of a novel for some reason. And at the time I picked it up, I wasn’t into it. But I would pick it up again!

      Like

  2. How wonderful to be traveling to your new adventure location, Boston! Safe travels to you, your husband, and your canine son. I’m excited to see what the library there looks like. =D

    Like

  3. Well when you get to Boston we do have a pretty bad-ass library! And you get to pick your card color here (Blue, Orange and another maybe Red?). Any resident of the state can have a card to the BPL 😀 Plus it’s pretty historical.

    Like

  4. The Denver Library is amazing and I can thank you for taking me 🙂 The Boston Library is pretty awesome, as well. They have lion statues and everything. Even though I will miss you, I know that you are going to LOVE Boston. Just don’t forget to grab some maple sugar candies at The House of Seven Gables (a must-see attraction for us book nerds). Drive safely!

    Like

  5. Wow. I envy you! Here in my country public libraries suck. It seems that the government doesn’t care about them so people tend to go to book stores and purchase books than borrowing them.

    Like

Leave a comment

