Part 2 of my Fight Song post!

I’m part of TNBBC’s Fight Song Blog Tour, and the other day, I was lucky enough to have Joshua Mohr on my blog talking about his quest for happiness and how it’s related to his amazing novel, Fight Song.

 

Fight Song chronicles a period in Bob Coffen’s when he is run down, with a job he despises, kids who would rather use technology than speak to him, and a wife, Jane, who is distancing herself.  Bob finds some unexpected advice in strange places, such as with his overly aggressive and living-in-his-football-past neighbor, a janitor from work who is the lead singer in a unique Kiss band, and a fast food employee who makes extra cash as phone sex operator through the drive thru intercom.

Bob Coffen essentially goes on a quest to achieve happiness in his life.  Some of the things I will take from Fight Song and Bob’s journey are:

  • Find a reason to try and keep trying – Bob needed to find a reason for his wife to continue to want to be in the marriage with him.  I learned from this (and other scenarios in the novel) that no matter what it is that you want, keep trying!  Whether this means with relationships, your career, teaching your dog that new trick, whatever it is, find that reason to try and keep trying!
  • Take the power back – Don’t let others control your life.  Hate your job?  DO something about it!  Marriage not doing well?  DO something!  Don’t just wait until your life, job, marriage falls apart.  Take action into your own hands and live your life.  You’ll have to read to find out if Bob does something about his job, the one that he severely dislikes.
  • Give the small stuff a break – You know when someone says that annoying comment?  Ignore it, or change it to a positive.  In one scene, the Kiss singer Ace is talking to the son of the woman he loves, and oh does that kid give him attitude!  But Ace twists it around to be a positive, and I probably should do more of that!
  • Enjoy the moment – Bob is so worried about enjoying the moment that he doesn’t, like when he takes his kids to the aquarium and he is so annoyed that his daughter is recording it on her iPad.  Eventually, he relaxes.  And that’s what it’s about.  Let people enjoy the moment and you can enjoy your moment as well.

My quest for happiness?

Well, I taught elementary school for five years and while I love teaching, there were aspects of being a teacher that I wasn’t a huge fan of.

My husband and I were also lucky enough to receive an opportunity to travel with his company around the same time I was wondering what to do next.

Book blogging had always been a thought way in the back of my mind, but my mom and a few friends kept telling me to cut it out and DO it already!

So I did.

I started my book blog in July and feel like I’m doing a pretty good job.  But the most important thing is that I love it!  I love reading and talking about books, and this is a fantastic way to do something I love.

Am I at a perfect place of happiness in all aspects of my life?  No, but life is a quest for happiness, and if I can take some of those things that Bob learned and incorporate them into my life, then I think I’m on a positive path to happiness.

Don’t forget to check out the other stops on the blog tour!

What’s your quest for happiness look like?

Signature

5 thoughts on “Part 2 of my Fight Song post!

    • Awwww thank you so much!!!! That was so sweet of you to say!!! I just try to write conversationally, in the same way that I would tell my friends to read a book. I appreciate all of your kind words a lot! It’s always nice to know my words aren’t being ignored and that they actually are being looked at, even though I’m just a regular person with a book blog! 🙂

      Like

  1. Pingback: February Mini-Reviews | Love at First Book

Leave a comment

