Fight Club by Chuck Palahniuk – Book 82

He was a normal guy, you know, good but boring job, IKEA furniture, nothing exciting happening in his life at all.  But he couldn’t sleep so he started attending support group meetings, for diseases he didn’t have like brain parasites and testicular cancer to help with his insomnia.  And it helped, for a while.

The movie version of the book cover just to remind you how awesome you thought it was and how much you’ll love the book too

But then he met Tyler Durden, who introduced him to Fight Club, and he didn’t need those support groups anymore to sleep.  Fight Club is an underground club where the rules are simple:

  1. You don’t talk about fight club
  2. You don’t talk about fight club
  3. Two men per fight
  4. One fight at a time
  5. No shoes, no shirt in the fight
  6. Fights go on as long as they have to
  7. If this if your first night at fight club, you have to fight

I like these rules better, but there needs to be 7 of them

Soon Fight Club leads to chaos, madness, and mayhem.

After a night in fight club, everything in the real world gets the volume turned down. Nothing can piss you off. Your word is law, and if other people break that law or question you, even that doesn’t piss you off.”

You don’t even want to KNOW how that soap is made!

But hey, I know what you are going to say right now.  “I saw the movie.  I don’t need to read the book.”  So don’t.  But you’re totally going to miss out on an amazing Chuck Palahniuk book.  Fight Club was made into an awesome movie, but I have to say, the book is just as good if not better.

And you know what else?  I’m telling you to read Fight Club.  And my word is law, and if you choose to break that law or question me, even that doesn’t piss me off.

(Did you see what I did there?)

Even in writing this post, I’ve risked everything by breaking the first rules of Fight Club.  So you better read this book.

Signature

16 thoughts on “Fight Club by Chuck Palahniuk – Book 82

  1. Ha ha! Love this review Rebecca! I’ve never read this (nor seen the movie!) and I’m not sure that I will. I like his books but I came across a giant spoiler for this at some point and it just ticked me off. Boo to spoilers and to the jerky jerks that let them out of the bag!

    Like

    • Oh noooooo!!! Part of the experience of the movie/book is the huge twist that you didn’t see coming!

      Although, I have seen the movie more than once, so I obviously know the twist and the ending, but I still really enjoyed the book. It would be worth giving it a try still, if you’re interested.

      Like

  2. Great review! I’m glad I read the book before seeing the movie, so the twist wasn’t spoiled for me, but both the book and the movie are excellent! And the movie has a totally different ending than the book (if I remember right), so it’s still definitely worth a read if you’ve seen the movie!

    Like

  3. hehehe Rebecca, your review is great. I was going to tell you I have already watched the film, but now I won’t tell you 🙂
    OK, one book more for my infinite list!!

    PS: my parents are addicted to Ikea, I think… Perhaps they should go to a support grout (wowwww).

    Like

  4. “Even in writing this post, I’ve risked everything by breaking the first rules of Fight Club. So you better read this book.”

    LOL awesome review! I can’t believe I haven’t read a Palahniuk book yet… what is the matter with me??

    Like

  5. I love the movie and the overall promotion campaign that was launched at that time. And I am someone who loves to read the book after watching the film and I haven’t read this one! I’m gonna get it! (another that i’ve read after watching the film and liking it was “Notes on a Scandal” )

    Thank you my friend for the reminder.

    Like

  6. I’ll have to check it out to see both the similarities and differences. Glad to hear you think the book is just as good or better than the movie.

    Like

    • Yes! I think you’d love it, too. You’d probably like other Chuck Palahniuk’s. Have you ever read anything by him? We have a bunch of his on Kindle and they have a few at the digital library that I can borrow for you if you’re interested and finished with what you’re reading.

      Like

  7. Pingback: March Mini-Reviews | Love at First Book

Leave a comment

