March Mini-Reviews

Another month has passed, so let’s check out what I did all month!

Allison @ The Book Wheel and I hosted the In the Woods Book Club.  The book wasn’t fabulous, but the discussion was!!!  So join in next time!  I promise we’ll pick a much better book.

Appearances by Margo Krasne was a great book of short stories and I conducted my very first author interview, too.  I loved how the first group of short stories were all connected, about one family.

Historia, Historia by Eleanor Stanford is a great short book about Eleanor & her husband’s time in the Peace Corps, and her battle with an eating disorder and loneliness during that time.  Loved it!

Oh my goodness, I loooooved A Tale for the Time Being by Ruth Ozeki!  Nao is a teenager who is in turmoil, being bullied, and trying to keep her father from committing suicide.  Such a great book from an unexpected point of view!

Fight Club by Chuck Palahniuk is such a great read, even if you have seen the movie!  Um basically, that’s all I have to say.  Read it.  It’s about fighting and making soap from something soooo gross you can’t even imagine.  And then there’s a twist you won’t see coming. . . unless you’ve seen the movie!

Whomp whomp.  Skip this Atwood and stick with one of her better reads like Oryx & Crake or The Handmaid’s Tale.

I also read Egyptian Gothic, which is totally a book to skip.

But then I read The Missing File by D. A. Mishani, which is a great book about a missing teen and a totally creepy neighbor!

 

Other intriguing posts. . .

Plus, in March I moved from the Boston area to our DC suburb in Virginia!

Allison & I started our very own Weekday Read-a-thon, more info coming soon!!!  Mark your calendars for April 24th!  We’re working on some amazing giveaways!

Aaaaaaand. . .

Allison & I created a 50 Bookish Things You Must Do Before You Die list!!!  So excited that we’re starting to check things off!

So, are you going to join us in our read-a-thon or bookish things list?

Thanks for reading,

Rebecca

16 thoughts on “March Mini-Reviews

  1. What a month!
    Now that I have twitter I’m almost sure that I will join the readathon! What a shame it is not on April 23rd, because that day is bank holiday in my city, hehe, so perhaps I will try 2 days of readathon 😉
    Happy April

    Like

Leave a comment

