The Amazing and Powerful FLOTUS

On Tuesday, I was honored to be able to meet the First Lady, Michelle Obama.

 Last week, it was announced that Michelle Obama would be coming to the Politics & Prose bookstore in Washington, D.C. for a book signing of her book, American Grown.

photo 3 (1)

So last Thursday, my aunt and I met up at Politics & Prose to purchase American Grown and have our background checks started by the Secret Service.

Then yesterday, we met up again, early in the morning, for the next security screening, which was very much airport-style.

Waiting in line - find me using Where's Waldo techniques. . . or just check out the arrow pointing at my head

Waiting in line – find me using Where’s Waldo techniques. . . or just check out the arrow pointing at my head

Around 11:15AM, Michelle Obama came into the bookstore, and spoke for about 10 minutes.  This was such a pleasant surprise because she wasn’t supposed to speak at all!

photo 3

The lovely FLOTUS talked about how excited she was for American Grown and to be able to share the books with everyone.  How the recipes included are some of her White House favorites.  How this book would be a fabulous gift for Mother’s Day, and how her own mother probably has at least 10 copies.

Michelle Obama also discussed how the book was motivated by deeper issues, with a focus on eliminating childhood obesity, and with all of the book proceeds being given to the National Park Foundation.

It was very clear that Mrs. Obama really cares about public garden space, childhood obesity, and our country in general.

After speaking, it was time to get the books signed.  Luckily, my aunt and I were about 30-something in line, so we didn’t have to wait very long.

As we were waiting, it looked like Michelle was shaking people’s hands.  One of her “people” (I don’t know his title, he wasn’t Secret Service, but he was one of the people who set up and made sure things were perfect before the First Lady arrived) was saying to us that she wasn’t allowed to do that, but I was able to convince him not to say anything until after I met her.

My turn came, and Mrs. Obama asked my name, where I was from, and shook my hand.  She really was able to give each person a little bit of individual attention, and even thanked me for coming.  I told her that I was so honored to meet her and glad that she took the time out to sign her books.

photo 4 (1)

All in all, it was a very successful morning!  I haven’t read the book yet, but I’ll let you know my thoughts once I pick it up!!!

Aaaaand guess what!!!  I have a second signed copy of the book, thanks to my aunt being so generous!  Stay tuned . . . a giveaway will be coming soon. . .

Who is one of the coolest people/authors you have met?

Thanks for reading,

Rebecca

32 thoughts on “The Amazing and Powerful FLOTUS

  1. How utterly fantastic. Michelle Obama was in Ghana in 2008 with her husband for a state visit and the whole country was agog. Her two kinds are so adorable and we all followed their trip on TV to the Cape Coast castle (built by the Danes and taken over by the British in colonial times).

    I was really impressed with the security detail and preparation prior to and during their visit. Air Force One was in full force together with the much talked about Beast which was transported all the way from the US.

    I will never forget this memorable event

    Like

    • It really is amazing how much you can feel like the Obamas really do care about the country and others. I felt like Michelle Obama’s speech was very genuine and when she talked about the book and childhood obesity, she had a lot of passion in her voice. I think that anytime you can be in close contact with people like that is memorable for sure.

      Like

  2. As I tweeted you already – how freaking awesome!! I’m so jealous 😉 Love the pics and that you shared about your experience meeting her – so cool! She sounds like such an amazing woman!

    Like

    • That is exciting!!! It’s tough, depending on where you live, but I think that if people searched a little more, there might be more authors than they think, even if they’re small ones! I just happened to be living in the right place at the right time!

      Like

  3. Squeeee! I’ve been waiting to hear about this! Omg how exciting! I really think if it had been me I would have made a fool of myself, lol. What a fantastic experience you lucky girl!!

    Like

    • I was soooo put together for some reason, who knows why, but I totally didn’t get flustered. Maybe because I knew how important she is that I had prepared what I would say and do. Like I was more flustered with Jodi Picoult, but I didn’t prepare in advance like I did with the First Lady.

      Like

  4. That is just so, so awesome. She’s such a great First Lady. I can’t believe you got to meet her!

    I’m totally going to keep an eye out for your giveaway 🙂

    Like

  5. This would be a great book signing to go to. I see you couldn’t take a hit and run photo huh? I got to do that with Charlaine Harris and George RR Martin. We could take a picture but they didn’t actually post for it. Lucky you to be able to go!

    Like

  6. I am so unbelievably jealous. That makes you one away from Hillary Clinton in the word of Seven Degrees of Kevin Bacon. That makes me TWO away from her. Plus, the political science major in me is just sick with envy that I wasn’t there!

    Like

  7. Wow, that is amazing. I have to agree with Allison, I am “unbelievably jealous” as well. But I actually felt happy for you reading this post. Thanks for sharing 😉

    Like

  8. Pingback: 365 Project: Days 126-132 | Love At First Book

  9. Pingback: FLOTUS GIVEAWAY: Signed copy of American Grown | Love At First Book

  10. Truly fantastic! I heard she was coming to Politics & Prose, but I wasn’t able to get up there and participate. Thanks for letting me live vicariously through your post, and I’m definitely going to look for American Grown!

    Like

  11. Pingback: American Grown by Michelle Obama | Love At First Book

  12. Pingback: American Grown by Michelle Obama | Love At First BookLove At First Book

Leave a comment

