Junot Diaz gave me a little hug!!!!

Recently, I went to a library book sale, and was lucky enough to snag a copy of Junot Diaz’s book, The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao.

Why was I so excited about that book?

Because I had just read This is How You Lose Her by Diaz for the Weekday Read-a-thon!

And I absolutely loved it!

So while checking out at the book sale, I was delighted when the guy I was paying mentioned that Junot Diaz was coming in just a few days to speak!  Obviously, this made it to the top of my priority list.

There were soooooo many people there to see Junot Diaz!  My sister was visiting, and we stood in the very back of the room since the seats were all taken.  I mean, he IS a Pulitzer Prize winner, so it does make sense.

Junot Diaz is so real!  He’s funny, not very PC, but just an amazing, powerful, and even slightly political speaker.

Honestly, so intelligent and insightful.

After speaking for over an hour, Diaz stayed to sign all of our books.  He didn’t have any time to pose for pictures, but it was nice that he was willing to make sure everyone’s book was signed.

Anyway, when it was my turn, Junot Diaz signed my book and I gave him my blog card and just mentioned that it was my blog and blah blah.  He then pulled me in for a quickie hug and a little kiss on the cheek, and said something like “oh that’s great” or something close but I can’t remember because I was just too excited!

If you have the chance to ever hear Junot Diaz speak, you MUST!

Have you read Diaz before?  What’s your fav?

Thanks for reading,

Rebecca

25 thoughts on “Junot Diaz gave me a little hug!!!!

  1. That’s so great you got to me him and he signed your book! I read Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao and wrote a review on my blog. I was very torn with that novel, parts I loved for the power of the writing and the depiction of the story/scenery and then parts I didn’t. I would still like to read This is How You Lose Her. Have a great day Rebecca!

    Like

    • I actually saw your “oldie but goodie” tweet about it today! I know some people might disagree, but This is How You Lose Her REALLY struck a cord with me and it was amazing, more amazing to me, than Oscar Wao.

      Like

  2. That is awesome! I have been wanting to read This Is How You Lose Her, but hesitated because I am not a huge fan of short stories, and I thought that was what it was.

    Like

    • It’s a novel! But I guess in essence it is a novel of short stories. So it’s not really short stories, but a bunch of stories put together to make a novel. I’m rambling. But it’s worth giving it a chance for sure! And it was amazing.

      Like

  3. A hug! How sweet! He sounds like an interesting guy – that’s so cool you got to hear him talk! You’ve been on a roll lately with all of these author events – I’m jealous 🙂 I love reading all about these experiences. Thanks for sharing (I love the pics!).

    Like

    • Ooooh thats cool, too!!! I was really surprised by the little hug! I didn’t expect it at all! He’s just so smart and so cool and laid back! I wish I could be so “whatever” and still super smart about things!

      Like

  4. How great you got to attend the presentation and have your books signed. Junot Diaz is an important author, even if only as an example of writing from the point of view of a newcomer to the US who experienced the pressures as a Latin immigrant to assimilate; he wrote about that. I read This Is How You Lose Her and did a review. I found the novel-in-stories sometimes hard to read as a woman, as it shows so much misogyny to women and exposed the serious egotism of the character. At the end of the novel I almost felt sorry for the guy and that is the power of the book, in my view. Thanks for your enthusiasm; I bet that is what struck Diaz as well and earned you the hug. Keep up the good work.
    Johanna

    Like

    • Yunior definitely was not respectful of women, but I feel like Junot Diaz was showing a real view of life and his immigration stories, and that’s what is so powerful. He really is a very smart man.

      Like

  5. Pingback: Quickies!!! | Love At First Book

Leave a comment

