Sisterland by Curtis Sittenfeld

Sisterland by Curtis Sittenfeld is a book about identical twins, Kate and Vi, who share a special sense. . . somewhat of a psychic power.  Although Kate does her best to hide it, to fit in, to be “normal,” Vi isn’t ashamed of her ability, which causes tension between the sisters.

When Vi receives a premonition that indicates danger, their lives and families are disrupted.

Throughout the book, even though Kate and Vi argue, they are there for each other as sisters.  And that’s something I can relate to.  Although my sister and I are 4 and a half years apart, we weren’t close until I left for college, and (dare I say it??) she totally missed me.  Now we’re really close, and I consider my sister to be a best friend.

While this book won’t go on my favorites list, I enjoyed it and would recommend the book to others.

As a side note. . . is it just me or am I the only one who had no idea that CURTIS, the author, is a GIRL???

Thank you to Jennifer @ The Relentless Reader for a copy of this book!

Let’s take a poll: Only child? Sisters? Brothers?

Signature

30 thoughts on “Sisterland by Curtis Sittenfeld

  1. I like the cover – nothing special, but the fact that one sister got green eyes and the other one blue 🙂

    Glad you liked the book, I’ve seen some other reviews and the thoughts varies. I have a sister and 3 brothers. I’m the baby and me and my sister are years apart, so we are not close at all.

    Like

  2. My sister (and it’s just the two of us) is my best friend in all the land. That’s why I was drawn to this book in the first place. The relationship in this book wasn’t as sweet and close as I had hoped, lol.

    Before I read this I had zero idea that the author was a female 😉

    Like

  3. I read her other books-Prep and American Wife- both very good, so I am looking forward to reading this one. I have two sisters-both older-one by 10 yrs and the other by 7. We are pretty close but not a talk every day close.

    Like

    • That’s a big age difference! My sister and I are a little more than 4 years apart. This is my first book that I’ve read by Curtis, and after reading Andi’s comment, I think I’ll do a little research before deciding to read more.

      Like

  4. Pardon what I’m about to say, but Curtis is a bitchy girl. There was a whole hoo-hah about a VERY nasty review she wrote of a “chick lit” book by Melissa Bank many years ago. Admittedly, it left a bad taste in my mouth and I’ve avoided her work like the plague ever since. Judgy of me, maybe. Oh well. 😀

    Like

    • First of all, thats what blogging is for: get our info out, whether it’s controversial or not! I personally don’t think ANY review should be “very nasty” because each book is some author’s baby, and there is SOMETHING good about every book. No book (just like no person, animal, etc) needs to be broken down. A negative book review can still be done very nicely.

      I appreciate you sharing this information! I don’t think it’s judgy – and even if it is, who cares? I definitely have a few “judgy” opinions that are tough to break, too. 🙂

      Like

  5. I thought the author was a guy too, so don’t feel bad! I have 5 siblings, and my younger sister is 6 years younger than me. We played growing up, and I don’t think the age difference really affected our relationship. I liked being spaced.

    Like

  6. I would not have guessed Curtis for a girl’s name. We’re sure she’s not pulling a George Eliot on us, right? Oh yes. Poll. I have one sister. She’s three years older. We have very different personalities and have never been exceptionally close, but I love the crap out of the baby she just had.

    Like

    • I think it’s okay that you and your sister are friends but not close. You don’t have to be BFF with your siblings. But I’m glad she has a kiddo you CAN be BFFs with. . . or AFF (Auntie Friends Forever????)

      Like

  7. Sounds like an interesting book, I guess we can’t love all the books we read, huh? I am an only child, unless you count the 2 puppy sisters I grew up with. But now I count my brothers, sisters (in law) and even close friends as siblings and my kids are a bit confused by the international family we have and how many people they call “aunt” and “uncle”. Between us, we cover many parts of the globe…India, Mexico, Puerto Rico, America (with Danish/English heritage), Canada, and China.

    Like

  8. Just requested this from NetGalley. Took me awhile to make up my mind. We’ll see.

    As for siblings, I’m the middle child (ARGH!) between two brothers, one 14 years older and the other 8 years younger. Basically, we’re like three different families.

    Like

  9. Well, I don’t know anything about the author or the book but I have two younger sisters! Although we are not close, the relationship you have with your sisters is always special even if you don’t have much in common. 🙂

    Like

  10. I was disappointed in this book. Sittenfeld wrote a novel a few years ago, American Wife, that was supposedly loosely based on Laura Bush. Her best novel, though, IMO is Prep. I think that was also her debut. I thought she could have made Sisterland better.

    Like

  11. Wow!!! I love it, the cover is great and the story is very very striking. I’m checking this out asap. Thanks for getting it under my radar.

    Like

  12. No, not just you, I thought she was a man as well, at least before I read her work. (Not saying a man can’t write women well, but in Prep it becomes obvious she’s drawn from her own life somewhat.) It sounds a good book, very different to what I would’ve expected!

    Like

  13. Pingback: The Firebird by Susanna Kearsley | Love At First Book

  14. Pingback: June in Review | Love At First Book

  15. Pingback: Prep by Curtis Sittenfeld | Love At First Book

  16. Pingback: Prep by Curtis Sittenfeld | Love At First BookLove At First Book

Leave a comment

