My first zombie book ever! WWZ

I’m not usually a fan of vampires, zombies, etc.  I don’t think they’re scary.  To me, scary is anything that could happen in real life, like your house being broken into.  I don’t watch vampire/zombie movies, shows, read their books (although I did end up reading the Twilight series and loved SK’s Salem’s Lot, but I didn’t know it was about vampires before I picked it up).

And I’ve never read anything about zombies, either.  Until now.  World War Z by Max Brooks seems to be THE zombie book, so if I was going to pick one up (and possibly see the upcoming movie with Brad Pitt) then I should just do it already.

World War Z is an oral history of the time when there was a zombie outbreak on our planet.  The book reads like a government paper, not like a fictional text, with historical (well, fictional historical) accounts of individual’s journeys/participations in the zombie war.

The book felt real, was raw, and not cheesy as I guess I kind of expected with the zombie stuff.  If you’re not a traditional zombie fan, this would be a good book to read, because, as I said, it’s not like a story, more of a historical account.

Does this mean I’ll be reading more zombie books?

Don’t count on it!

Interested in getting your own copy?  Check it out on Amazon & IndieBound.  I get a small percentage if you purchase from those links, and it doesn’t cost you any extra.

What are your thoughts on the zombie/vampire trend?

Signature

53 thoughts on “My first zombie book ever! WWZ

  1. Yay! I’m glad you liked this, I really want to read it soon. I started it maybe 4 years ago but never finished it, and I really want to read it before I see the movie. I love the “historical account” take on it.

    You’d be surprised how many zombie books aren’t cheesy because they’re not actually about the zombies… they’re usually more about the people and how they’re dealing in such a messed up situation. If you DO decide to give zombies another go (hey it could happen!) I recommend Warm Bodies, Married With Zombies (which is about a married couple reconnecting while trying to survive the zombie apocalypse, it’s actually really funny and sweet), oooorrrrr watching The Walking Dead.

    I had no idea I was such a zombie fan… lol.

    Like

    • Haha. Closet zombie lover? Except you’re out of the closet on your zombie love?

      I’ve heard such good things but my worry is the cheesiness. I’d give Warm Bodies or The Walking Dead show a try! Thanks for the suggestions!

      Like

  2. I’ve been thinking about adding this to my list. I’m also not a zombie fan, and I’m so freaking picky about my vampires that I’ve only found a few books I really enjoyed. I would recommend beyond the obvious Dracula – which is actually very subtly creepy – Interview with a Vampire. This is the only Ann Rice book I recommend to people. The Historian by Elizabeth Kostova is a more historical take and really fun. Also, Sunshine by Robin McKinley – my favorite of them all – is quirky, silly, beautiful, and amazing. Plus it makes you want to eat cinnamon rolls. Yes, a vampire story that makes you want to eat cinnamon rolls.
    So….WWZ goes on the list….after all the other books I’m reading or hoping to read soon. 🙂

    Like

    • Then I think you would like WWZ because it’s my first zombie taste, and it read much more like history than zombie craziness.

      And I totally have to read Dracula and Interview with a Vamp because they are on the 1001 Books You Must Read Before You Die list!

      A vampire tale that makes cinnamon rolls more appealing? Maybe one I should stay away from if I’m dieting. But I’m not, so bring it on! 😛

      Like

  3. I keep thinking about reading this, which is strange because I don’t normally do these types of books. BUT I keep hearing that it’s good and not like other zombie books.

    I do watch The Walking Dead because that show is brilliant but that’s the extent of my zombie love 😉

    Like

    • I think that you would be able to do WWZ, just like I did, and you know my thoughts on the zombie stuff. Also, since it’s told in first-hand accounts, you could start it and then decide because it’s written differently, you’ll see.

      Like

  4. I don’t get into the whole zombie thing, but I’ve been meaning to read this one for a while. Guess I should get crackin’ and read it before the movie comes out on DVD.

    Like

  5. I’ve never read a zombie book yet so glad to read that this might be a good one to read first. I don’t mind cheesy, though, so I might also like some of the sillier ones! Thanks for your comments!

    Like

    • You might then! I guess it depends on what “bothers” you about zombies (besides the whole flesh eating part). With me, it was the cheesiness, but if that’s something you can deal with, then there might be others for your list, too. But I like WWZ as a good zombie intro.

      Like

  6. I’m not a huge fan of zombie books, but I did enjoy Susan Dennard’s Something Strange and Deadly. Zombies, vampires, etc. are very common these days, and there are many who wish the whole genre would disappear (“zombie apocalypse” was on Time’s online poll about what words we should banish).

    Like

    • I’m probably one of those who is okay with the zombies disappearing, but for a non-zombie fan, this was a good book for me to read. I’m glad I did, too, because I like to expand my mind and genres, even if it’s to a place I won’t return to again.

      Like

  7. I listened to the abridged audio, and while that was done really well with some great actors in the cast, I do feel like I missed a good chunk of the story and will probably eventually go back to read the full paper book. Still think I might see the movie this week, though! I heard it’s pretty different from the book anyway.

    I have been on-and-off reading The Walking Dead: Compendium One (graphic novel) since my husband got it for Christmas, that one’s pretty good too!

    Like

  8. I can enjoy moderate doses of zombie movies or tv shows but books about zombies? Nah. Not my thing.
    WWZ looks pretty interesting, although I think I’ll skip the book and watch the movie instead.

    Like

  9. I really enjoy zombie movies, they’re never really scary but I love the setting and the high tension that comes with surviving in such awful conditions. I have yet to read a zombie book and I can’t say I’m a fan of the paranormal/supernatural genre. I’ve heard amazing things about World War Z though the movie seems completely different from the book, I’ve heard it’s more about human nature and the people. It sounds really interesting and I’m sure I’ll be reading it soon.

    Like

    • This one for sure is not scary, but really cool. I swear, I was explaining to my husband “I know this isn’t really real but . . . ” and then I’d proceed to explain the book to him like I was explaining some real history. 😛

      Like

  10. Horror isn’t my thing at all. I read the Twilight series and it took almost a year for a group of students to convince me to even look at the first book. If it hadn’t had the romance and lack of actual horror, I wouldn’t have been interested at all. And I haven’t looked at one since.

    I had a student do a report on WWZ last year, so it’s probably decent if a student willing glut picked it up 😉

    Like

  11. I’m not into zombies either, but this does sound interesting. If you DO decide you want to read more zombie books, you could try The Zombie Survival Guide. I read part of it a few years ago, and it was super weird. It was written by this guy who is seriously trying to prepare people for a zombie apocalypse, but it’s kind of inadvertently funny.

    Like

  12. I feel you on the zombie thing. I think zombies are wayyyyy overdone these days. One of the few zombie movies I have enjoyed was 28 Days Later (I’m not sure if there’s a book, but if so, I’d read it). I bought WWZ a day or two ago, partially because Muse (one of my favorite bands) does the movie soundtrack and partially because I read reviews saying the focus wasn’t so much on the zombies. 🙂

    Like

    • You’re totally right. And WWZ is a good book about the zombie apocalypse, told from people’s “first hand accounts” which is silly to say, but it totally makes it read like a real historical account, and I loved that.

      Like

    • It’s the perfect one for you if you’re not a zombie fan, like me. Also, the way it’s written would make it easier to put down if you started it and disliked it that much. But the format is what got me hooked.

      Like

  13. I love zombie books, and this is definitely one of my faves. It’s SO much different than most other zombie novels though. Much more raw, less “kitschy” if you will. I’m glad you enjoyed it, even if you won’t be delving too much further into the genre. 🙂

    Like

  14. I don’t mind the trend, though vampire romance irks me. Would any really consider being intimate with a cold, dead thing? Really? I enjoy zombies if done well, I liked World War Z well enough, but I found Colson Whitehead’s Zone One to be even better (it zombie literary fiction).

    Have you seen the movie? It looked absolutely NOTHING like the book – save the same title.

    Like

    • I’ll look into the Colson book.

      BTW, ANYTHING romance irks me. Haha! I’m just all about girls being women and not all “waaah I need a man.” I can do romance as a side story, but when it’s the main part, I’m all blech!

      And yeah. . . not sure how the movie is going to be but it can’t be too close to the book since there’s a main character, which isn’t how the book is set up. I think the WWZ that could be like a movie is a movie set up like a documentary. But I have heard the movie is really good. What do you think?

      Like

  15. I just read it, too! It wasn’t my favorite book, but like you said in your review, it seemed so real! When I finished it, I thought: “Are there any zombies left in Iceland, then? Can I meet them?” 🙂

    Like

    • Haha! That’s totally how I felt! I kept explaining it to my husband like it really happened, but had to keep saying “I know it’s not real.” But I love how it felt real and not all goopy zombieish like I expected.

      Like

  16. with all the weird chemicals being produced these days, you never know if a zombie will just climb in through our windows one day…:)

    Like

Leave a comment

