The Firebird by Susanna Kearsley

I received this novel from She Reads in exchange for a fair and honest review.
The Firebird by Susanna Kearsley was a tough book for me to read. It’s over 500 pages, which isn’t my strong point as a reader, and it’s VERY similar to two books I have recently read and just thought were okay.

In both The Firebird and Sisterland, two people who were very close had some psychic powers. In each book, the main character wanted to be hidden, and her powers were weaker since she did not hone them. Then, there were some pretty close similarities to The Forgotten Garden, where one of the characters finds out that she’s not really the daughter of the family that has raised her.

Also problematic to me was the fact that the main character starts out on this pretty intense journey, but the cause of which I thought was weak. Meaning, I just didn’t believe (or care) for the why behind this journey.

This book was not for me, but it didn’t help that I had JUST read two books that had similar premises, and both books were ones I didn’t love.

However, that doesn’t mean that this book is not for you! Did you love Sisterland by Curtis Sittenfeld and The Forgotten Garden by Kate Morton? Then this book is one I believe you also will enjoy!

Thank you to SheReads for allowing me to be part of this book tour.

So, do you think this book sounds like it’s something you would enjoy?

Thanks for reading,

Rebecca

14 thoughts on “The Firebird by Susanna Kearsley

  1. I didn’t want to read this one but I ended up enjoying it WAY more than I thought I would. You just never know 😉 Sorry it didn’t work out for you Rebecca, boo 😦

    Like

  2. I ended up really enjoying this one (review coming later today). I was pleasantly surprised.

    I didn’t find her “quest” unbelievable, but I probably would have done the same thing for the owner of the firebird. I am an empath, so I would have felt horrible for the woman and I would’ve wanted to do everything I could to help her, especially if I were already heading to Russia.

    BUT, books like this can’t float everyone’s boat (no book can).

    Like

    • Yes! So if it’s not similar to your other reads, or if it is similar but it’s stuff you love, then you might like this one. There are a ton of other reviews out there by some bloggers I totally respect on this one, and they mostly have enjoyed it, so it might just have been me!

      Like

  3. I did enjoy The Forgotten Garden, but I have seen more negative than positive reviews on this one, so I won’t consider reading it. I do have her other novel, The Winter Sea on my TBR list.

    Like

  4. Hmmm I remember reading The Forgotten Garden a while back and not really liking it, so maybe this one isn’t for me either. But it’s a shame, I’ve kind of been wondering if I should try this author. Her book covers are so pretty!

    Like

    • Check out the reviews of her other books. This for sure was not for me, made worse by the fact that it was waaay too similar to other recent reads, but I don’t know anything about her other books.

      Like

Leave a comment

