June in Review

Oh thank goodness for June reads!  If you remember, I hit a slump in May where I was reading okay books but not loving most of them.

But June. . . oh June. . . June was sooooo different!

In June, I read a ton of great books, that reminded me how I want to tell books. . .

I posted about 14 books: 11 were fiction and 3 nonfiction, so that’s not too shabby.  I didn’t read my Classics Spin yet, but I will sometime in July.

Tigers in Red Weather by Liza Klaussmann is a book that Allison has been trying to get me to read for ages!  Thankfully, I found it at the library and enjoyed it almost as much as she did.

Argo by Antonio Mendez – written AFTER the screenplay (womp womp) was good, but the movie was better.  The book goes into much more detail about CIA stuff in general, not just the Argo experience.

A Train in Winter by Caroline Moorehead – This was the May book club pick, and while the book was good itself, it was not the best for free-flowing discussion.  It’s about a group of French women who were Nazi resisters and were captured.

Flight Behavior by Barbara Kingsolver – BK does it again.  This is a slower read, but it was a really good one.  Who would have known that I’d enjoy reading about butterflies?

The Golem and the Jinni by Helene Wecker – Looooooong but worth it.  I love the mysticism of multiple cultures, and how it kind of comes down to an interfaith/interracial situation!

The Forgotten Garden by Kate Morton – Blah. . . This was recommended to me by a few of my favorite bloggers, but I was just a little bored by it. . . I mean, it was alright, but a slower, lighter story.

North of Hope by Shannon Huffman Polson – Good story about Shannon’s personal journey recreating the Arctic trip that her dad and stepmother were killed on.  Story of adventure and dealing with loss.

The Clock of Life by Nancy Klann-Moren – Good coming of age story that touches on a ton of tough topics.  I liked it, but I did have a few issues with it as well.

The Flame Alphabet by Ben Marcus – LOOOOOOVED!  Yes, it’s odd, but listen to the premise:  Children’s speech is lethal.  OMG, like how does that work?  How will the world continue?  Plus, there’s a strange made-up sect of Judaism that is kind of fascinating and plays a big part in the storyline.

Sisterland by Curtis Sittenfeld – Did you know Curtis is a GIRL?  I soooo didn’t.  Good book but not fabulous.

Girlchild by Tupelo Hassman – Such a good, tough read!  I just love Rory’s story, and it reminds me of Push by Precious, though not nearly as explicit.

World War Z by Max Brooks – My first ever zombie book! This read so much like a nonfiction, historical account that I continuously told my husband about it, prefacing with “I KNOW it’s not real, but when the zombie apocalypse happened. . .”

Astor Place Vintage by Stephanie Lehmann – Amanda is a 2007 girl with a consignment shop in NYC and she stumbles upon a 1907 girl’s diary (Olive).  Loved the story of both girls, esp Olive’s, and you’ll enjoy this one even if you don’t have a NYC connection.

Out of the Dust by Karen Hesse – Fab YA read on Billie Jo’s experience in Oklahoma during the depression, with horrific dust storms.  Written in prose, it’s a unique and quick read.  So worth it.

Other fabulous June happenings:

  • Allison @ The Book Wheel and I announced our July book club read: The Elegance of the Hedgehog – There’s still plenty of time for you to join us in reading!
  • I participated in the Literary Blog Hop Giveaway and made many new bloggy friends
  • Plus, I continued my 365 project here, here, here, and here.

My favorite read this past month?  The Flame Alphabet by Ben Marcus.

What was your favorite read in June?

Thanks for reading,

Rebecca

Interested in getting your own copy of any of these? Check it out on Amazon & IndieBound. I get a small percentage if you purchase from those links, and it doesn’t cost you any extra.

28 thoughts on “June in Review

  1. I’ve heard of a fair number of these, enough to see how June got you out of the slump, good to hear 🙂 I’ve Flight Behaviour and The Forgotten Garden on my TBR. My favourite was The Iron Queen.

    Like

  2. I want to read SO many of these! A good month indeed 🙂

    And I totally agree with you on The Forgotten Garden – blah. It was so not as good as I was expecting.

    Like

  3. June sounds like it was a great reading month for you! I just got The Flame Alphabet from the library! I can’t wait to read it; it sounds amazing! Also, Ben Marcus has a new short story collection coming out in January that seems really interesting 🙂

    Like

  4. Sounds like a great month for reading! I LOVE the covers of Flame Alphabet and Girlchild and I think they were both nominated for having an amazing cover recently. Have a great July!

    Like

  5. hello, discovered you through The Book Wheel – I will try to join the discussion on The Elegance of the Hedgehog that I loved so much.
    I am now following you through Bloglovin.
    Great titles here – I loved the latest BK as well.
    Morton is one of my favorite women writers [just as BK] – funny I did not find this one slow. actually I listened to it. Usually I listen to audiobooks while doing something else. well for this one, I took some time just sitting and listening, because I could not wait! and as soon as I finished listening to it, I bought the print copy.
    the one I found slow was The House at Riverton.
    Here is my June wrap-up:
    http://wordsandpeace.com/2013/07/02/2013-june-wrap-up/

    Like

    • Oh no! It’s no fun when you have a “bad” reading month. So disappointing! You’ll need to make some good choices in July. If you haven’t read Salvage the Bones, I loved it. Same with The Song of Achilles.

      Like

Leave a comment

