Quickie on Elegance of the Hedgehog

Because I have spent an entire month discussing Elegance of the Hedgehog by Muriel Barbery with all the lovelies who participate in the book club (hosted by me & Allison), I’m going to sum it up here quickly.

Renee is a concierge at a condominium building in France.  She’s super smart, but since she was born poor and doesn’t have a formal education, she spends her life tricking her residents into thinking she’s dull.  This works. . . for a while.

Then we have a teenage girl who is going to commit suicide but only after she gets all of her amazingly intelligent thoughts out on paper.

Soon, a condo sells and a new resident moves in and shakes things up.

The Elegance of the Hedgehog is a fantastic read, one that I believe must be read more than once to truly understand all of the nuances.

It reminds me a lot of A Tale for the Time Being, so if you enjoyed Elegance, pick that one up next!

Have you ever pretended to be something that you’re not?

Signature

Interested in getting your own copy? Check it out on Amazon & IndieBound. I get a small percentage if you purchase from those links, and it doesn’t cost you any extra.

6 thoughts on “Quickie on Elegance of the Hedgehog

  1. Such a great book – so glad you liked it! I honestly wouldn’t have thought of the Time Being book in relation to this one – I think because I never finished the Time Being book (I just couldn’t stand Ruth and got bored with her, so I quit the book). But Hedgehog is awesome – definitely a must read 😉

    Like

  2. I struggled with the first half of this one when I read it a few years back and almost gave up on it. Boy was I glad I didn’t because I so enjoyed the second half. Of course, it’s one of the reasons I’ve had a hard time putting books down since then; you never know when a story might grab you!

    Like

Leave a comment

