To Murder a Saint by Nicole Loughan

I received this book from the author in exchange for a fair and honest review.  

To Murder a Saint by Nicole Loughan is a fast-paced mystery that I only put down one time (to go to sleep) and picked up again first thing in the morning.  This is the kind of mystery I enjoy: no filler, just the meat.

Two girls from the Louisiana Bayou move to New York City, and two months into their stay, one of the girls, Josephine, is brutally murdered.  Fanchon, her roommate and best friend, helps the local police try to solve this case.

Fanchon and Banyan, the policeman in charge, travel back to the bayou for answers.

I can definitely say I did not expect the book to go in the direction that it did.  This book is short and easy to read, keeping you hooked from the first page.

I mean, listen to this quote that opens up the book and tell me how you could not get hooked right on that:

“It’s probably a bad sign on a first date my mind wandered to how best to bury somebody.” 

Side note: the “saint” in the title doesn’t veer towards religious.  It literally is talking about a person from the Louisiana Bayou area (you know, like from “When the saints go marching in. . .”).

Also, this book seems like it will eventually turn into a series, (according to the information on Amazon) but it is a complete story from start to finish, with zero indication that a sequel is necessary.  Although, I would totally read more.

Have you ever been to the Louisiana Bayou?

Signature

Interested in getting your own copy? Check it out on Amazon (Kindle version is $1.99, but double check to make sure the price hasn’t changed!) & IndieBound. I get a small percentage if you purchase from those links, and it doesn’t cost you any extra.

21 thoughts on “To Murder a Saint by Nicole Loughan

  1. I’ve nominated you for a Versatile Blogger Award because I find your blog thought-provoking and inspiring.

    If you choose to accept, here’s what you need to do:
    1. Display the Award Certificate on your blog.
    2. Announce your win with a post. Make sure to post a link back to me as a ‘thank you’ for the nomination.
    3. Present 15 awards to deserving bloggers.
    4. Drop them a comment to tip them off after you have linked them in the post.
    5. Post 7 interesting things about yourself.

    Rule #6, whether you accept or not, is to keep being awesome. ❤

    http://aplacethatdoesnotexist.wordpress.com/2013/07/30/the-versatile-blogger-award/

    Like

  2. sounds like an interesting story. i love fast paced mysteries. The only time we have been to Louisiana is driving from NC to TX and the thing I remember most is the reaaaaallllly long (many miles) bridge over the swamp land. You dont want to run out of gas on that thing. Bridges sort of freak me out so that is what I remember about Louisiana. Thanks for sharing your thoughts on this book.

    Like

    • This one is totally fast paced and a quick read.

      In Florida, we have this road called Alligator Alley, and it probably has an official name, too, but that’s what everyone calls it, but you’re driving in the middle of nowhere Florida from one coast to the other and there are zero gas stations, rest stops, etc on the way. You have to get gas in advance, and there are a ton of signs warning you of the fact before you get there. 🙂

      Like

    • I’m with you! It’s not a genre I normally tackle, and can be let down easily in that genre. But To Murder a Saint isn’t like most of the mysteries I’ve read. Yes, it’s a mystery, but it’s without all of the extras that are unneeded or used to throw you off. It’s short, sweet, and to the point, which makes it a great read.

      Like

    • Yes, and you don’t need to know anything about Louisiana to enjoy it.

      I’ve been to New Orleans and enjoyed my fair share of Bourbon Street, but never been to the bayou like this book discusses. It may sound horrible to admit, but I imagined it to kind of look like Adam Sandler’s home area in the movie The Waterboy! That was my only “bayou” reference!

      Like

  3. I love stories like this! Thanks for sharing your thoughts Rebecca, i’m going to check this out and if it’s still that price on Amazon, I will definitely pick it up

    Like

  4. Well, I have purchased it by free because Mel told us on Twitter, and I’m looking forward to reading it after your review.
    The first sentence is terrific, indeed!
    Hope to tell you my thoughts soon 🙂

    Like

  5. Pingback: All Saints’ Secrets by Nicole Loughan | Love At First Book

  6. Pingback: Nifty Novellas - To Murder A Saint

  7. Pingback: All Saints' Secrets by Nicole Loughan | Love At First BookLove At First Book

  8. Pingback: To Murder a Saint by Nicole Loughan | {The Book Musings}

Leave a comment

