Songs of Willow Frost by Jamie Ford

I won this book from LibraryThing in exchange for a fair and honest review.  

I was sooooo excited when I received the email confirming that I had won a copy of Songs of Willow Frost by Jamie Ford from LibraryThing.  One of my favorite books (in my top 5 for sure) was Ford’s Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet, which if you have not picked up yet, you MUST!

As a personal fan of Asian culture, authors like Ford and Lisa See, this book is one that captured my heart.

William is a 12-year-old boy who lives in an orphanage in Seattle, the only Chinese child at Sacred Heart.  He has no idea who his father is, but has brief memories of his mother who possibly abandoned him at age 7.

When William discovers that his mother might be a famous actress, he does all he can to find her and figure out what happened.  When he meets Willow, Liu Song, she begins to tell her story and we see how these two lives are intertwined.

Told in complementary perspectives in both the 1920s and 1930s, Songs of Willow Frost takes you into the lives of William and Liu Song and won’t let you go.

Are you a fan of Chinese or Asian culture?

Songs of Willow Frost will be published on September 10, 2013, but it’s available now for preorder.

Signature

Interested in getting your own copy? You can preorder it now!  Check it out on Amazon & IndieBound. I get a small percentage if you purchase from those links, and it doesn’t cost you any extra.

 

29 thoughts on “Songs of Willow Frost by Jamie Ford

  1. I remember REALLY enjoying Ford’s last novel, so I’ll probably check this one out eventually too. Asian novels aren’t a specific genre that I like, but Ford does a good job at past & present kind of stories.

    Like

  2. I have this one coming up too Rebecca! I’m super excited about it. I LOVE reading about Asian culture for one thing. Don’t smack me but I don’t think I’ve read his previous book. Ack! I need to remedy that!

    Like

  3. Did you hear there are two versions of Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet? After I got ahold of a copy I started seeing talk of the earlier editions of the novel being inaccurate in the details for the time period in which it was set – if I recall correctly it was some talk of computer usage that didn’t yet exist in the 80s. And then talk that later editions have those allusions fixed. I think it was in the reviews on Goodreads that I saw all of this.

    I don’t think I would’ve noticed it anyway and I’ve had this one on my summer reading list! If it’s as good as you say, I’ll read this new one too!

    Like

    • I just think it’s so fascinating and different from my own culture. Now this book isn’t as steeped in Asian culture as others I have read, but it is a motif and important to the book for sure.

      This is one I think you’d like for sure. Jamie Ford is just a great writer!

      Like

  4. I wasn’t quite sure this would be one I could get into, but I keep hearing amazing things and I just recently had a copy sent to me…so I”m definitely planning on reading it now. Glad to hear you enjoyed it, it makes me want to pick it up even more!

    Like

  5. I like this one based on cover alone! I haven’t read many books about Asian culture but I did recently really enjoy both 1Q84 and Your Republic is Calling You so I think I will be searching out more Asian authors in the future 🙂

    Like

  6. Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet is also one of my all time favorite books, and I am thrilled to see a new story by Ford, can’t wait to read it! I am also a big fan of Chinese-Asian stories and find that several of my all time favorites are of this genre. Thanks for the great review, Rebecca!

    Like

  7. Pingback: What some famous people love about books - Love at First Book

Leave a comment

