Do One Green Thing by Mindy Pennybacker

A few months ago I read a book that totally changed my life: Garbology by Edward Humes.

From that moment on, I have changed many of my wasteful habits and started going green(er) than I previously had been.  Most of these changes end up saving me money as well!

One day after reading Garbology, I was at the library and randomly picked up Do One Green Thing by Mindy Pennybacker.  I knew it was a book I needed to own because of all the great tips, so once I got home I ordered my own copy.

photo (3)

What a smart choice!  Because this book is one of the best!  I have learned so much from this book to make myself and my world a little greener, to make healthier eating choices, and to save some money in the process.

Some of the things I will take with me are. . .

  • The best fish choices for my health and the environment
  • Which foods to purchase organic and which ones I can skip
  • That some microwave safe plasticware still leaches hazardous materials (the book describes which ones do that!)
  • The difference between hand washing and dishwashing dishes – both environmentally and financially

Plus this tidbit: “Replace one 6-ounce can of albacore “white” tuna with one 6-ounce can of wild Alaska salmon, and reduce your mercury intake by 89 percent.”  After reading that, we no longer buy canned tuna fish, but we buy canned Alaskan salmon.  It’s a little more expensive, but it tastes almost the same when made in the normal “tuna fish” way.

I also have about 50 other sticky notes on pages with green info, plus a few I stuck on notes into my phone (like the one about the healthiest fish, so I have it in my phone for reference at restaurants!).

I highly highly recommend Do One Green Thing.  The book is full of valuable information for going green, and most of the tips end up saving you money!

What do you do to be green?

Signature

Interested in getting your own copy? Check it out on Amazon & IndieBound. I get a small percentage if you purchase from those links, and it doesn’t cost you any extra.

20 thoughts on “Do One Green Thing by Mindy Pennybacker

    • The best thing about Do One Green Thing is that a lot of Mindy’s tips are financially good, too. And she’s smart about it: Instead of telling you to replace everything you have now, she explains that a lot can be replaced in a green way when it needs replacing. She also explains how much money you can save with certain switches.

      Like

  1. Sounds like a really interesting book! I admit, I’m TERRIBLE about being green… the best I do is use reuseable grocery bags, and even then sometimes I skip those and get plastic bags because I re-use them as bathroom trashcan liners. Being more green is kind of one of those things that for some reason I think I’ll be more into when we have our own house – I know the honeyman already plans on getting solar panels and having a garden and all that 🙂

    Like

    • YES! So first of all, anything you do that’s green (like reusable grocery bags even sometimes) is a big help. We use plastic bags to pick up Tilly’s “presents” so it’s not like I never use a plastic bag.

      And not everything green works for me. I’m not going to cut out makeup or NEVER buy a bottle of water or start wearing only green fabrics, but I can make certain green lifestyle choices that are easy switches. And I think most people can do that, too. For instance, if you like the plastic bags for your garbage cans, you can always buy (inexpensively, like $10 for 6) cloth produce bags, since those won’t be great as trashcan liners.

      Or buy certain things in bulk, like laundry detergent and sponges and soap refills, which saves plastic wrapping. It’s not about doing EVERYTHING, it’s just about doing little things.

      Can you imagine if everyone on the planet just did one more green thing? It’d be a much better, healthier place!

      Like

    • I cut it out completely, and now my husband will eat canned Alaskan salmon as a substitute. It tastes very similar when made in a “tuna fish” way (you know, with mayo and all). It is more expensive, but it’s a million times healthier!

      Like

  2. Pingback: Do One Green Thing by Mindy Pennybacker | The Scagliones Go Green

  3. This sounds really fascinating and useful! Making green choices and saving money? I am all in. Once I get a library card for my new city, I think I’ll check this out!

    Like

  4. We have to recycle here so it’s easy to forget that as something we do, but we also shower more, dry clothes inside on clothes horses if it’s raining and the like (though I’ve heard a shower isn’t as good as it’s supposed to be, compared to a bath, which is interesting). I’ll have to remember that note about salmon, that’s quite the difference in percent.

    Like

  5. I read a lot of green books when I was younger, but I think there’s a misguided idea that we start to “know it all”. I know I did. And I started to slack in this department when it came to reading. This one sounds like it’s full of great, practical tips, that that’s awesome! Definitely want to check it out.

    Like

    • Totally. People think they have to be growing their own food and wearing organic clothing or they aren’t green.

      It’s so much more about adding ONE green thing to your repertoire. I mean, that’s something everyone can do, you know?

      Like

  6. The books I’m most likely to buy are those that I think I’ll use as a reference later 🙂 I eat tuna, so I’ve already learned something helpful from the book and might have to add it to my to-read list to learn more. Thanks for the great review!

    Like

  7. I just realized that I commented on your Scaglione’s go Green blog about this post and not on Love at First Book, but like I said over there, this sounds great and doable! A lot of these going green books are overwhelming and it’s nice to have it broken down into easy and doable steps.

    Like

    • And since I commented over there, too, I’ll just say. . .

      Yes, and it’s nice because the book is low pressure. It’s about lots of green things but you don’t feel like you HAVE to do all of them, just do what fits in well to your life.

      Like

  8. Pingback: 5 Things Friday: Best. Bookmarks. Ever. - Love At First BookLove At First Book

Leave a comment

