How many personalities do you have? Responding to Sybil

A while ago, I heard of the book Sybil Exposed, about how the book Sybil is supposedly incorrect.  In order to get a better understanding on that book whenever I get ahold of it, I figured I should reread Sybil by Flora Rheta Schrieber, since I haven’t read it since high school psychology.

photo (1)

My copy of Sybil which totally fell apart as I read it. . . seriously, I recycled the pages as I read because none of them were glued into the book anymore!

Luckily, my aunt was giving away her copy.

Sybil is the supposedly-true story of a woman with multiple personalities. . . 16 of them.  This causes her life to be disjointed, with many lapses in time that Sybil can’t make up for.  She loses friends, seems moody, all because of the various personalities that take over when Sybil can’t cope.

But why can’t she cope?

Sybil came from a very disturbed family, where her mother subjected her to some disgusting and horrific experiences.

Disassociating was Sybil’s way of coping.

While there are many people who disagree that the Sybil case was accurate and/or believe that the doctor in charge of her case made missteps, it cannot be doubted that the Sybil story is moving, interesting, and unique, which always makes a great read.

What are your thoughts on Sybil/multiple personalities?  Have you read it?

Signature

Interested in getting your own copy? Check it out on Amazon & IndieBound. I get a small percentage if you purchase from those links, and it doesn’t cost you any extra.

15 thoughts on “How many personalities do you have? Responding to Sybil

  1. I’ve not read Sybil, but I certainly want to now, it sounds fascinating. I’d also probably follow it up with the book you read, to see why it could be inaccurate.

    Like

  2. OK, at 67 you’d think I had read Sybil, but no! Guess I’d better check it out so I can read this interesting follow up you mention. As a psych major, I don’t know why I didn’t read Sybil. Sigh . . .

    Like

    • YES!!! Psych major? My sister and mom were, too. And yes, Sybil is like a classic psychology book, and you should be able to find a copy easily, since it is a pretty old book.

      BTW, I accidentally wrote psycho major at first, but thank goodness I caught it. Maybe I can blame that mistake on one of my personalities?

      Like

  3. I haven’t read either of the two books, but based on your review I really should. In highschool I really wanted to study Pschycology and I’m not sure why I didn’t follow through on that, maybe because of the limited career opportunities here. However, I am still very much interested in the subject and I think this book (as well as the exposed book) would be right up my alley!

    Like

  4. Pingback: Sybil Exposed by Debbie Nathan | Love At First BookLove At First Book

Leave a comment

