Long Live Us by Mark R. Brand

I received this book from the publisher CCLaP in exchange for a fair and honest review.  

Photo Credit: Goodreads

Long Live Us by Mark R. Brand is a collection of short stories that debuts tomorrow.  I know some of you guys stay away from short stories, and I used to, too.

There’s this misconception that short stories are tough to get into, or that by the time you’re into them, they end.

You know what?  Some short stories are like that.  But others are fabulous, and they give you just what you need.

Most of the stories in this collection are like that: just right.

Here are a few summaries of some of my favorites:

Red Rocket is the opening story, and steals your heart right away.  Darryl is having a hard time at school because the other kids tease him about his father who “is an astronaut”.  Is he really away on this really long trip, or is this just what mom told him to keep him from thinking his dad is a bum?

Potluck is a dystopian tale (very realistic though) where healthy weight is mandatory for getting anywhere in life.  Kids and teens are practically starved, weighed in often, and know that if their BMI is too high, they’re not getting into college.  The teens take drastic measures to get extra food and also to make weight.

Nose Goblins tells the tale of a disease that takes over the society, causing everyone to be locked inside in quarantine.  Trust me, it’s unique!

She Was Never Free to Begin With is one of the short stories that left me with a lot of questions, and sticks in my mind as a story I would definitely read if it was turned into a novel.  Kids being raised independently from parents in school compounds, flash mobs. . . something is up.

What’s your favorite short story collection?

Signature

Interested in getting your own copy? Check it out on Amazon & IndieBound. I get a small percentage if you purchase from those links, and it doesn’t cost you any extra.

9 thoughts on “Long Live Us by Mark R. Brand

    • Yes, all with the same “trying to survive” theme.

      But if you want a REALLY great short story collection, and can handle some not-so-happy stories about kids, Say You’re One of Them by Uwem Akpan was amazing!

      Like

  1. It’s funny, I adore short stories and they are a significant portion of what I review. I get comments like that too, “this sounds interesting, I just don’t like short stories” or something similar. But when done well, short stories can be amazing.

    My favorite short story collection I’ve read as of late is The Universe in Miniature in Miniature or Revenge by Yoko Ogawa.

    Like

  2. You know, I also don’t really read short stories. I always say so now, but when I was younger I used to love short stories, but I was like a teenager. Now, I think I am reading more novellas, but I will pick up some short stories – you’ve given me a few suggestions already 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment

