Skinny Bitch by Rory Freedman & Kim Barnouin

Once again, here’s a book that is changing my life!  First, it was Garbology by Edward Humes, which turned me from a normal recycler to someone who is making some big changes to go greener.

Photo Credit: Goodreads

Now, it’s Skinny Bitch by Rory Freedman and Kim Barnouin, which is revamping my diet and health.  Skinny Bitch is “a no-nonsense, tough-love guide for savvy girls who want to stop eating crap and start looking fabulous.” 

The book advocates a vegan diet, which is way too extreme for me.  Even so, there were tons of great tips and facts about ways to make your own diet healthier.

The information is hidden behind sassy comments like “sober up a-hole” and “you need to exercise, you last sh*t.”  Skinny Bitch is telling you how to get healthy, but in a way that sounds like it comes from your early 20’s BFF.

Keep in mind that these women promote a vegan lifestyle, and are pretty graphic when describing some of the processes by which meat is produced.  You can skip these parts and still find value in the book.

Before even finishing my Skinny Bitch library edition, I ordered my own copy of the book from the library, along with Skinny Bitch in the Kitch (a cookbook companion, vegan-style) and another vegetarian cookbook.  I also went out and purchased (and looked into) more vegetarian options to add to my diet.

Am I going to go vegan or vegetarian?  Nope.  I do enjoy meat, but I am making changes so that I can have a few vegetarian dishes on a weekly basis that are healthy, filling, and full of protein.

And although I’m not cutting out all the sugar in my diet, I’m working on cutting out dessert except for once a week.  Dessert meaning anything dessert-like that’s not dried fruit, including a sugary coffee drink.  It’s tough, but I’m proud of myself so far.

I even made a checklist in my phone of some of the more important things I gained from the book as a way to remind myself!

So right now, pledge with me to do one thing this week that will make you healthier!

My pledge?  Keeping up with the 1 dessert a week thing and making 3-4 vegetarian meals per week.

What’s your pledge?

Signature

Interested in getting your own copy? Check it out on Amazon & IndieBound. I get a small percentage if you purchase from those links, and it doesn’t cost you any extra.

15 thoughts on “Skinny Bitch by Rory Freedman & Kim Barnouin

  1. I have no interest in being vegan or vegetarian, but I do like the tone of this book! Because even though things like “You need to stop being lazy and just go exercise” sounds sassy, they’re TRUE. Too many people want to believe in some sort of miracle diet, but really just eat less junk and work out more, and you’ll be healthier.

    Great review!

    Like

    • Thanks, Sarah. I think that there is plenty of good advice for everyone wanting to get healthier. While I’m not going vegan or vegetarian, I can make better choices about the foods I do choose, including crap like Splenda. . . it’s apparently the worst of the worst!

      Like

  2. I’ve been thinking a little bit about becoming a vegetarian. I avoid reading things about how meat is produced because I know I don’t want to know. Lately I’ve been thinking that perhaps given that I’m suspect that animals are treated atrociously I should either stop eating meat, educate myself more about how it’s produced, or both.

    Like

    • I think that you can do both. If you’re this curious, you should learn a little more. Skinny Bitch is a good introduction to the cruelty of animals that we eat. It’s easy to read a little and skip what makes you the most uncomfortable.

      Flexitarian is the “new” term which means that you eat a mainly vegetarian diet but eat meat at times, too. For me, what works is vegetarian meals a few times per week. I don’t want to give up meat or cheese, but I can cut down on my meat intake.

      Like

  3. I loved this book! I read it a few years ago and when a friend’s mom asked me what I liked best about it/what I learned, I gave her the whole spiel about Purdue chicken. What I didn’t know is that she raised Purdue chickens! Luckily, she had a good sense of humor about it but the book definitely left a lasting impression on me.

    Like

    • It’s extreme for sure, but once you kind of come down from the info, I think the lesson for most people is how to incorporate the healthy tips into daily life. I don’t think it means go vegan or vegetarian necessarily, even though that’s what the book promotes, but you (meaning general, collective “you”) can make a change or two to be healthier.

      Like

  4. I loved this book when I got it and reading your review makes me want to read it again. I can honestly say that this book has changed how I ate for a while, but I didn’t keep up with it. What I will do is read the book again and make notes and take some of the tips to incorporate into my current diet. It’s Spring and I definitely have a few kgs to loose before Summer 🙂

    I did cringe when I read the chapters about meat, in fact I wanted to cry… so graphic, but you know what – it’s probably the truth! I don’t eat dessert, so when I do it’s like a treat for me. I think that I will pledge with you to read more fresh veggies this week and less food that contains fat or carbs (like having my protein with a crisp salad or warm veggies, instead of rice or fries or anything like that) so here goes! 🙂

    PS: I also loved the tag line!

    Like

  5. Pingback: Meeting Shannon @ River City Reading + 365 Project | Love At First BookLove At First Book

  6. Excellent article. Keep writing such kind of information on your page.

    Im really impressed by your blog.
    Hello there, You have performed a fantastic job.
    I’ll certainly digg it and for my part recommend to my friends.
    I am sure they’ll be benefited from this site.

    Like

Leave a comment

