The Death of Bees by Lisa O’Donnell

I received this book from TLC Book Tours in exchange for a fair and honest review.  

The Death of Bees

The Death of Bees by Lisa O’Donnell hooked me from the start.  I read this book over the course of one day, totally unwilling to put it down.

The Death of Bees

Photo Credit: TLC Book Tours

I mean, seriously, the quote above is how the book begins!  How can you not get hooked?

The Death of Bees is about Marnie and Nelly, who have buried their not-so-wonderful parents in the backyard of their (potentially project) house.  Marnie is a 15-year-old, super smart but also kind of lazy teen, who enjoy cigarettes, occasional drug use, and being Nelly’s protector.  Nelly is a little “off,” an almost-normal girl, who just seems to have a little bit of social trouble.

Marnie and Nelly need to keep the secret and survive, especially once the welfare checks are cut off. . . and they do so with the help of their “sexual predator” neighbor, an elderly gay man named Lennie who had one incident that has labeled him for the rest of his life.

Lennie becomes a surrogate grandfather to the girls, and while he doesn’t know exactly where the parents are, he lets that go to both help protect Nelly and Marnie and also to have their company.

They all have secrets, and through the telling of The Death of Bees, you realize that sometimes family doesn’t always have to be who you are related to by blood.

The Death of Bees is a book I recommend.  It’s one you can read quickly, even at over 300 pages.

Check out the author, Lisa O’Donnell, on her websiteFacebook page, and Twitter account!

Would you cover up a secret if you knew it was for the best interest of someone you loved?

Signature

Interested in getting your own copy? Check it out on Amazon & Indiebound. I get a small percentage if you purchase from those links, and it doesn’t cost you any extra.

38 thoughts on “The Death of Bees by Lisa O’Donnell

  1. I just finished reading this a few days ago. I too was hooked at once and it was hard to put down – I had to know what would become of Marnie and Nelly. I’m glad to see how much well deserved attention this book is getting and I look forward to what she comes out with next. 🙂

    Like

    • That is the truth, isn’t it? I do the same thing, like “oh, why didn’t I say yes to THAT book???? everyone looooves it!” But really, we can’t read it all, and I actually only said yes to this one because I had heard of it previously. But I’m so glad I did!

      Like

  2. That is a hell of a quote and I had to hop over to Goodreads to add it to my to-read list before writing this comment. Is it like The Lovely Bones at all? Where there’s action in the beginning but everything doesn’t become clear until the end?

    Like

    • It’s not like The Lovely Bones, although Alice Sebold is a fabulous author. Have you read Lucky? (I think that’s what it’s called) It’s her true story of being raped and then dealing with it. It was really good too!

      Like

  3. So, I thought I already commented on this but apparently I dreamt it, so here’s my actual comment. I’m so glad you enjoyed this book because you know I didn’t give it a great recommendation 🙂 MAYBE if you love it that much I’ll try it again.

    Like

  4. Pingback: Lisa O’Donnell, author of The Death of Bees, on tour October/November 2013 | TLC Book Tours

  5. Pingback: Closed Doors by Lisa O'Donnell - Love at First Book

Leave a comment

