Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell

Eleanor & Park via Love at First Book

Photo Credit: Goodreads

Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell was a book that I had placed on hold at the library months ago.  And after waiting all of those months, I gobbled this book up in no time.

Eleanor & Park is about two misfit 16-year-olds who have their first high school romance, but it’s not a romantic book.  It’s a book about life, trying to find yourself as a teen, and first love.

Did I mention it takes place in 1986 which means it has some awesome 80s references?

Honestly, all I can say about Eleanor & Park is that it’s a book that you have got to get your hands on.  It’s emotional, sad, uplifting, and beautiful all at the same time.

And it totally reminds me of The Fault in Our Stars, which I just reviewed last week!

Anyone have a good suggestion for another book on first love?

Signature

Interested in getting your own copy? Check it out on Amazon & Indiebound. I get a small percentage if you purchase from those links, and it doesn’t cost you any extra.

44 thoughts on “Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell

  1. Anyone ever read Mrs. Mike by Benedict Freedman?
    It is an old book (published in 1947) but so wonderful! It takes place in the Canadian Wilderness.
    It is a beautiful love story with such depth and emotion. It is a first love that turns into a life long love.
    If you haven’t read it do!

    Like

  2. I thought Eleanor and Park might be a little too sweet for me, but I ended up enjoying it quite a bit. Oooh! Can I give you a first love/graphic novel combination? You need to read Craig Thompson’s Blankets! It’s a big old chunkster for a graphic novel, but you’ll fly through it.

    Like

    • Okay, sounds good! I read Persepolis, too, which will hopefully be published as a review at some point soon. I’ll add Blankets. I’m not the love story kind of gal, but I like it when it’s done well: like with E&P and The Fault in Our Stars with STRONG, quirky girls who don’t need the guy but like him just the same.

      Like

    • That’s so funny, I noticed that, too! It just so happens that I have been reading YA. . . both of these (E&P and The Fault) came in from the lib at the same time. I think I’m YA’ed out for now! Back to tough, grownup reads! 😀

      Like

  3. I love the crap out of this book. It was my introduction to Rainbow Rowell and I will continue to read every book the woman writes through the end of time. If this book were a person, I would hug it, make it some cocoa, and buy it fuzzy jammies.

    Like

    • I know, you’ve been talking about her for a while, which is one of the reasons I was extra excited to read this one. I’ll have to check her others out. . . like Fangirl which I am pretty sure you drooled all over with love, right?

      Like

  4. I listened to this on audiobook, and I loved it! I’ve never really been into YA (even as a teen I thought most of the plots sounded stupid) or romance, but oh man, this book. I loved that Eleanor was “weird” and overweight, but that didn’t matter to Park. Such a good message for teens — be yourself, and someone will love you for exactly who you are, regardless of what you look like.

    Like

    • YES! Maybe that’s why I loved it so much. I wasn’t the hot, popular kid in high school and I still enjoy being different. I think that being weird is cool, much cooler now as an adult than it was in high school. And that Eleanor and Park were both different and themselves, I really liked that. I may not have been the kind of person who would have been friends with Eleanor in high school, but I wish I would have been!

      Like

  5. Pingback: Love At First Book’s Spread the Love Linky Party | Book-alicious Mama

  6. I just read Attachments by the same author. It’s her adult novel. Very good, sweet and compulsively readable. I’m looking forward to reading Eleanor & Park!

    Like

Leave a comment

