Literature Inspired Valentine’s

It’s no secret that Valentine’s Day is on Friday, and for this year, I decided to plan a little Literature Inspired Valentine’s date.

First, I talked to my husband about exchanging books or a bookish gift this year.  I’m not a huge Valentine’s Day fan in general, so while I like to take the time to remember the people I love, I don’t want all of the candy or teddy bears or anything like that. So this year, the gifts will be bookish.

I picked out a book that I knew my husband would like and wrapped it bookishly.

Bookish Valentines Date via Love at First Book

I have some pages from an older, falling apart book, so I drew hearts on them using chalk (so it will wipe off easily) and cut a few out.  Then I wrapped the book using some scrapbook paper I found at Target (Dollar section win!!!) and taped a few of the bookish hearts to the front.

Then comes the actual date.  I’m planning a literary dinner with courses inspired by books that my husband and/or I have read.

Bookish Valentines Date via Love at First Book

I didn’t do anything too fancy – just brainstormed, typed it out using Microsoft Word, and glued it onto a second sheet of scrapbook paper.

The menu itself is very self-explanatory, but here’s a quick rundown:

  • Appetizer – Since my husband is in finance, I’m making a salad with a bunch of greens, plus a roasted red pepper vinaigrette
  • Entree – We’ve both read the Harry Potter series, and since I have already made an HP-inspired fish and chips, I thought I’d change it up with a new recipe, Shepherd’s Pie.
  • Side Dish – Inspired by a book both of us have read, David Baldacci’s The Winner (about a lottery scam), I used the play on words to represent the bread rolls.
  • Dessert – No worries, no poison berries will be used, but I have always just loved the idea of a poison berry inspired dessert.  It’ll be simple and light, a sorbet with some fresh berries.

If you’re interested in the actual recipes I am planning on using for Friday, and/or in the sheet itself, here it is, with the recipe links on the second page!  Feel free to alter it to fit your needs.

What are you planning on spending Valentine’s Day?

Literary Love 2014 via Love at First Book

Signature

 Did you write a book love-ish post for this week?

[inlinkz_linkup id=363722 mode=1 pageSize=300]

42 thoughts on “Literature Inspired Valentine’s

  1. This is adorable and TOTALLY creative! David was lamenting the fact that he doesn’t know what to get me this year, and I said, “How about you get me a B&N gift card, and I’ll get you a gift card for food, and we’ll call it done?”

    And DONE.

    Like

    • That’s great, too! I got my husband a book and he got me something bookish. . . I don’t know what it is yet of course, but for a few days it was sitting in the box on top of the closet and just calling to me. But I didn’t peek because the surprise on Friday is worth it. It’s funny too because I’m not usually picky, but I was like “you have to wrap it nicely, not just shove it into a bag okay?” 😛

      Like

  2. This is so cute and I love how unique and personal it is! What a lucky couple you are to have each other!!! Have a wonderful V-day!!! (stopping by early from SITS since I’ll be traveling Friday)

    Like

  3. This is a cute idea! This year, my husband is going to make dinner and we are going to binge watch the new season of House of Cards that premiers on Netflix on Valentine’s Day. We are very low key. 🙂

    Like

  4. This is so cute! I’m the same; I like taking the time to do something romantic, but I hate the idea of exchanging pricey gifts because the commercial Valentine’s Day says we should. We are staying in and making a romantic dinner — splurging on steaks and a nice bottle of wine and making chocolate dipped strawberries for dessert!

    Like

  5. How creative!! I love your bookish wrapping paper (which I just might steal, full disclosure) and all the thought that went into the menu. I’ve never thought about having a ‘themed’ Valentine’s Day like this, but I like it… mixin’ it up and whatnot. 🙂

    Like

  6. This is so sweet. I admire some personal effort with Valentines Day, it makes it less of a Hallmark Holiday 🙂 So utterly romantic. Coming from SITS Comment Love Tribe xo

    Like

  7. Found this while searching for “Crowd pleaser cakes”. Have just made it for the second time. It’s absolutely gorgeous. We don’t generally have &#ibn0;Hummi2g28rd” cake in Ireland so it’s a real treat. Thanks for posting the recipe!

    Like

Leave a comment

