“Granite” Countertop in 5 Easy Steps

I recently moved back into my home in Central Florida after doing some temporary living in a few cities around the country for my husband’s job. Now that I’m home, there are a few projects I want to tackle, like my ugly grayish countertops.

That’s kind of an expensive and big project to tackle. But then I had a Countertop Epiphany.

I figured out a way to spend less than $8 to make my guest bathroom countertop look amazing.

“Granite” Countertop in 5 Easy Steps

So here is how I turned my ugly countertop into a faux “granite” countertop in 5 easy steps.

MATERIALS

“Granite” Countertop in 5 Easy Steps

-Granite sticker (I used Duck’s Peel & Stick Granite, which I purchased for less than $8 a roll at Lowes)
-Scissors
-Pin (safety pin or other)
-Paint scraper tool (for smoothing down the sticker)
-Straight edged knife like an Exacto knife

PROCEDURE

1. Clean and dry your countertop.  I used a Clorox wipe, then, in case there was residue left on the counter, I wiped it down with a wet paper towel before drying.

“Granite” Countertop in 5 Easy Steps

The “before” picture of my counter. Not terrible, but not too pretty either!

2. Roughly measure out the amount of sticker you will need.  It has a little give, so don’t worry about being too specific.  I gave myself an extra inch, just in case, and later on you will cut away the excess.

3. Cut out a rough area for the sink.  Again, don’t worry about being specific.  You’ll cut a little as you go, and since there’s a little stretch in the sticker, a rough cut works perfectly.

4. Slowly peel off a small part of the backing and begin to stick the sticky part where it goes on your sink.  Use the paint scraper to smooth down the edges.  Peel back up if you end up with wrinkles and bubbles, getting the sticker down as smoothly as possible.  As you go around the sink, cut off excess so that you can smooth down the sticker as close to the edges of the sink as possible.

“Granite” Countertop in 5 Easy Steps

Halfway through!

5. Cut off excess around the edges and sink using the Exacto knife.

“Granite” Countertop in 5 Easy Steps

Closeup of the granite print

And that’s it!  5 Easy Steps to change your countertop and update your bathroom/kitchen counters!

EXTRA TIPS

-Be patient. This takes a while to get it perfect. I completed this project in something like 2 hours, but I did take breaks when I got anxious about the precision.
-Bubbles? Use the pin to pop the bubble and then smooth it over using the paint scraper tool.
-Wrinkles? They’re the devil. . . basically try to prevent them at all costs. If you catch them early you can lift up the sticker and fix them.

 

So what do you think? Is this an option you might want to try for your countertops?

Signature

101 thoughts on ““Granite” Countertop in 5 Easy Steps

  1. I really love this ideal, I thought I would try this! So I went to Lowe’s and bought one roll, which was plenty even with the mistakes. I did it in 2 1/2 hours. I’m so glad and happy how it turned out. My kids came over and they were very impressed what I did.

    Like

  2. Did you have to use different pieces of the sticker for the back splash and the edges of the counter or was it all just one big piece?

    Like

  3. I dont know about this in a frequently used bathroom because of moisture from the shower and water from the sink and just general wear and tear but,I think it looks great and would work good in a guest bath.Dont you hate that faucet?I have those in my bathrooms and am in process of changing them.

    Like

  4. Will it go on kitchen counter tops and will it take hot things buy accident. I really love it. Please answer me if you can thanks.

    Like

  5. I am very interested in trying this on my kitchen counter tops. Would you recommend it for them? Is there anything you would suggest I do differently on them?

    Like

  6. This worked perfect in my main bathroom above my bathtub. After I applied I used a paint brush and put about 4 coats of Mod Podge paste over it, it has been over 5 years and the tub is used a least once a week. I have had no problems.

    Like

  7. I did this 3 years ago to my main bathroom in my current apartment. It turned out great. This bathroom gets used daily, 2-3 showers a day, so lots of moisture. I do clean the countertops like normal. No real problems. I will say, because it is a sticker, the edges are starting to lift in some spots. Near the edges. Not noticeable though. And honestly I don’t care since its temporary for an apartment anyway. To remove, use a hair dryer to loosen the glue, so no, probably not good for kitchens.

    Like

  8. I did this in on our old formica kitchen counters, and it turned out great and is very water resistant, cleans up easily and looks great! We got our film on ebay though, not sure how it compares to the Lowes product, but if it looks similar, just ours is glossy. You did an awesome job!

    Like

    • Hi ~ I’m very interested in trying this on my kitchen counters. They are green “brick” tiles with concrete grout, and literally falling to pieces. Underneath is white laminate. I’m assuming that one I remove the bricks, I’ll have some concrete blotches to sand down. What concerns me is the one very long counter ~ how did you do the seams, or did you even have any? And did you cover your finished counteracts with any kind of poly sealer? Thanks so much!

      Like

  9. I did this in my bathroom to cover an old olive green with gold fleck laminate countertop. I did caulk around the sink afterwards. It has held up amazingly and it has been on there about 15 years!

    Like

  10. Works for top mounted sinks where there is an edge to guide the knife blade as you trim the sticker, and can caulk if desired. Same for the edge of tile or plastic surrounding a tub. Flush or bottom mounted sinks don’t work because you don’t have a way to protect the edges…

    Like

    • Never used the product but some epoxy has a chemical reaction that can melt certain kind of plastics. Best to call the manufacturer and ask them.

      Like

  11. Has anyone tried removing it off of laminate countertops? I bought the fake granite laminate and upon reading the label it says it is a permanent adhesive. I’m in a rental and worried about ease of removal when we move out.

    Like

  12. I would have liked to see a picture of the “complete” finished project! Also you could remove the sink to cover the countertop with a solid piece of cover! This would eliminate the worry of water leaking in between the areas cut during installation! It looks very nice!

    Like

Leave a comment

