Book Club: Lolita & Reading Lolita in Tehran

Lolita-Reading Lolita in Tehran Companion Read

For Book Club, Allison @ The Book Wheel & I decided to do things a little differently, and we are super excited about it!

For April, we will be reading Lolita by Vladimir Nabokov, which is a classic novel on “love as outrage and hallucination, madness and transformation” (from Goodreads summary).  

Then in May, we have Reading Lolita in Tehran by Azar Nafisi, which is the memoir of how an inspired teacher fought the Islamic regime by reading forbidden texts with her small group of select students.

I love this idea for 3 reasons:

1. It’s innovative – we haven’t done a Book Club comparison yet!

2. We get to compare a classic and a modern story.

3. We get to compare a related fiction and a nonfiction.

For April and May, we’ll discuss each book only twice during each month on my blog, Love at First Book.  Same amount of time to read, half the amount of discussion weeks per month, but the same amount of amazing discussion!

Interested in participating in only one of the Book Club discussion months?  That’s okay, too!  We’d love for you to participate in both, but feel free to join in only one book discussion if that works better for you.  We also made sure that both books would be readily available at most local libraries.

And don’t worry – both Allison & I will be sure to let you know of and remind you of the schedule!

Now who is going to participate with us?

Signature

32 thoughts on “Book Club: Lolita & Reading Lolita in Tehran

  1. I’m in! Sounds interesting. I will try really hard to control myself so that I can comment each time. Actually with 2 times a month I can wait and read right before the first time an then it’ll be ok for me to keep going and finish.

    Like

  2. I’m in for May:) I’ve wanted to read the Tehran book for ages – its just been sitting on my shelf getting dusty. I’ve already read Lolita, so I’m looking forward to your thoughts on it.

    Like

  3. If I can get my review pile in control, I may reread and join in. I read both of these in 2008 during grad school. I took a memoir class where we read Reading Lolita in Tehran…and then when I saw the title was a connection to the classic, I had to go read the classic. I’m weird like that, I read the books mentioned in books often.

    Like

  4. This is a great idea. I’m not sure on my participation though as I have already lined up my reading. But when I do get around to reading Lolita, I will definitely couple it with Reading Lolita in Tehran.

    Will also be following your discussions with interest 🙂

    Like

  5. Count me in! This sounds brilliant. I’m a little nervous about how disturbing Lolita would be, but I’m sure that will make it a great book for discussion. Plus, I can’t say no to a classic and the companion read idea appeals to my love of all kinds of book pairings 🙂

    Like

  6. Awesome site you have here but I was curious if you knew of any user discussion forums that cover the same topics talked about here?

    I’d really love to be a part of group where I can get responses from other knowledgeable people that share the same interest.
    If you have any suggestions, please let me know. Many thanks!

    Like

Leave a comment

