When the Cypress Whispers by Yvette Manessis Corporon

When the Cypress Whispers via Love at First Book

Photo Credit: Goodreads

When the Cypress Whispers by Yvette Manessis Corporon is a novel situated in one of the most beautiful places on Earth: a small Greek island.  I just love Greece, and the book described some amazing scenery which really brought me back to the vacation my husband and I took a few years ago.

In When the Cypress Whispers Daphne lost the love of her life Alex in a tragic accident.  It’s been years, and she and her daughter Evie have since moved on.  Daphne will soon marry Stephen, who is wealthy and has helped Daphne create her dream of owning a successful restaurant in NYC.  When Daphne takes Evie to the Greek isle of Erikousa before the wedding (which will be on the island later), Evie and Daphne fall back in love with this amazing place.

At the same time, Daphne finds out that her grandmother, Yia-yia, is hiding a secret.  An amazing secret that makes Daphne question herself and the life she has made.

Pictures from my trip to Chania & Athens, Greece

I really really wanted more of the historical fiction part of the book.  It was such a tiny piece, and I think that with more of that historical fiction, which was on the island during WWII, the book would have been a great read.  It felt too glossed over for me, and left me wanting more, but not in the best way.

For me, the book was a little too light, too much of a predictable story.

Who is this book for?  Someone who enjoys lighter women’s fiction with a touch of unknown history thrown in.

Have you ever been to Greece?

Signature

Interested in getting your own copy? Check it out on Amazon & Indiebound. I get a small percentage if you purchase from those links, and it doesn’t cost you any extra.

10 thoughts on “When the Cypress Whispers by Yvette Manessis Corporon

  1. I’m reading this one later this week for the tour, so I have to admit that I’m kind of not looking forward to it now. I like the idea of reading about Greece, but this story sounds like its not going to be all that engaging. At least it will be a quick read. Those pictures were great – thanks! I’ve never been to Greece, but would love to visit. It looks absolutely beautiful!

    Like

  2. As you know I have this one and I can’t wait to read it myself! I still remember you talking about the food references 🙂 Sorry that it left you wanting, I hope I will enjoy it.

    Greece is a beautiful country, so idyllic! I want to visit there.

    Like

  3. I think I would have liked this better had there been more focus on the historical fiction part of the story as well. I really disliked the modern story and how hard everyone was on Daphne (a single mom!) for not spending enough time with family. The historical fiction bit was exciting, but there just wasn’t enough of it.

    Like

Leave a comment

