Yeshiva Girl Stories by Perle Besserman

Yeshiva Girl Stories via Love at First BookI received this book from Homebound Publications in exchange for a fair and honest review.

Yeshiva Girl Stories by Perle Besserman is a collection of short stories in a time-progressing order.  The stories are about Pnina, a Modern Orthodox Jewish girl who is ready to break out of the mold. . . mostly.  Pnina starts off at a religious school, called a yeshiva, and begins to break some Jewish rules under the guide of her friend Nelly and her Uncle Harry.

As she gets older, Pnina struggles between the secular (non-religious) and religious world of Orthodox Judaism.

The stories were great, and I loved how Pnina aged through the stories, but was still only a teenager at the end of the novel.  So many books go through the entire coming of age process, and I like the uncertainty of Pnina’s religious future kind of hanging in the breeze.

My favorite story was The Sackman Street Boys, where after Pnina joins a “summer gang” (think a young, Jewish West Side Story with no weapons).  After injuring one of the boys, Freddie, her father forces her to apologize.  What happens after that is touching, and real.

I also liked Wages of Sin, which is where Pnina goes with her Aunt and Uncle Harry to a cheesy hotel (think of the resort from Dirty Dancing).  She gets into some trouble, being 16 and drinking everyone under the table, and then makes a not-so-wise choice.

Pnina is relatable for those of any religion, because she’s a teenager who wants to go against the grain, as all teenagers are known to do.  And at exactly 150 pages, this novel gives you just the right amount of story.

Are you a short story fan?  Share your fav collection!

Signature

Interested in getting your own copy? Check it out on Amazon. I get a small percentage if you purchase from that link, and it doesn’t cost you any extra.

21 thoughts on “Yeshiva Girl Stories by Perle Besserman

  1. I don’t know if you accept blog awards as I notice that some people prefer not to but I’ve nominated you for the One Lovely Blog award. You were so encouraging and helpful about setting up my blog so I wanted to say thanks! Details can be found on my latest blog post. 🙂

    Like

  2. I’ve never been a huge fan of short stories, but since I have recently been published in four anthologies and am reading those (somewhat like short stories) I may rethink the short story genre. This sounds interesting since it follow Pnina chronologically in age. Thanks for another great review!

    Like

  3. I don’t actually like short stories that much, but this one intrigues me. I guess it’s because it follows the same character as she ages. Will be added to the TBR list.

    Like

  4. Oh, snazzy new layout! I like it 🙂 I’ve read very few short story selections, but I think I like them. As I mentioned in my response to your comment though, I love perfectly wrapped up endings so the uncertainty of the ending probably wouldn’t work for me.

    Like

Leave a comment